Davey Johnstone Strikes On His Own

November 26, 2021

One of the most underrated great guitarists in the world, Davey Johnstone is principally known for just one of his gigs – the decades-long, if intermittent, stint as Elton John’s sidekick. This collaboration that started 50 years ago with 1971’s “Madman Across The Water” and lasted till the late ’70s when Elton’s team moved to the Alice Cooper camp where Davey’s axe chopped the riffs on “From The Inside” and “Flush The Fashion” – yet Johnstone had always been a member of MAGNA CARTA and shone on such remarkable records as Joan Armatrading’s "Whatever's For Us" and “Bella Donna” by Stevie Nicks.

But the 70-year-old’s latest stretch with John was interrupted by the pandemic, so Davey gathered his friends to pick up where his solo debut “Smiling Face” left off in 1973. With cover artwork created by the veteran’s daughter Juliet and his teenage son Elliot singing on most of the tracks, THE DAVEY JOHNSTONE BAND’s “Deeper Than My Roots” – that’s scheduled for the February 4th release – is looking rather alluring.

– Deeper Than My Roots

1. Go Easy On My Heart
2. One Look In Your Eyes
3. Meh Amour
4. Walt Dizney
5. Melting Snow
6. You Lied To Me
7. Deeper
8. Boxer In The Corner
9. Black Scotland
10. The Final Quarter
bonus tracks:
11 Here, There And Everywhere
12 All The Time In The World

Posted in News Tagged

GONG Dust Off A 1974 Concert For Release

November 24, 2021

Live à Longlaville 27/10/1974

Despite all the touring GONG undertook in the ’70s, the amount of the Daevid Allen’s ensemble concert recordings from early days is criminally scarce. Which is why “Live à Longlaville 27/10/1974” that will be made available on December 10th on CD and vinyl should be more than welcome addition to their array of platters. Preserved for posterity in France right after “You” – the closing chapter of the “Radio Gnome Invisible” trilogy – the double album features not only choice cuts from this and previous LPs, “Flying Teapot” being the glaring exception, but also Steve Hillage’s monumental “Solar Musick Suite” that would not make it out until 1975, when “Fish Rising” was released.

Since this comes from a mixing desk tape, its quality is great, capturing stellar performances by the aforementioned players as well as from Didier Malherbe, Tim Blake and the recently returned Laurie Allan. In other words, it’s an essential document.

CD 1:
1. Other Side Of The Sky
2. Master Builder
3. Perfect Mystery
4. Tropical Fish
5. I Never Glid Before
6. Solar Musick Suite

CD 2:
1. Flute Salad
2. Oily Way
3. Outer Temple
4. Inner Temple
5. A Sprinkling Of Clouds
6. You Can’t Kill Me
7. Isle Of Everywhere (Part 1)

Posted in News Tagged ,

Martin Barre And Other JETHRO TULL Alumni Report From The Stage

November 22, 2021

While JETRO TULL ply their trade with the ensemble’s mainstay, when the group’s former guitarist Martin Barre hit the road with a band of his own back in 2019 and reached Edwardsville, Illinois, for two shows dedicated to TULL’s 50th Anniversary, he had two former colleagues in the line-up: Clive Bunker on drums and Dee Palmer on keyboards. Together with younger colleagues, the veterans ran through their former collective’s choice moments and last year Martin had the concert recording issued on a limited edition DVD which was sold through his website. But early 2022 will see the document released on a double CD.

The selection may feature the staples of TULL repertoire yet many of the numbers performed during those two nights seem rather unexpected, so “Live At The Wildey” looks indispensable for all the aficionados out there. It goes like this:

Live At The Wildey

CD 1:
1. Song For Jeffrey
2. My Sunday Feeling
3. Back To The Family
4. For A Thousand Mothers
5. Nothing Is Easy
6. To Cry You A Song
7. Teacher
8. Cross Eyed Mary
9. Hymn 43
10. Aqualung
11. Thick As A Brick (Excerpt)
12. Passion Play (Excerpt)
Acoustic Set:
13. Someday The Sun Won’t Shine
14. Cheap Day Return
15. Life Is A Long Song
16. One White Duck
17. Wond’ring Aloud
18. Locomotive Breath

CD 2:
1. Piano Intro / Warchild
2. Sealion
3. Bungle In The Jungle
4. Heavy Horses
5. Songs From The Wood
6. Hunting Girl
7. Steel Monkey
8. Jump Start
9. New Day Yesterday
10. Locomotive Breath
bonus track:
11. Dharma For One

Posted in News Tagged , , ,

Bernie Marsden Readies Another Tribute To Past Masters

November 19, 2021

Bernie Marsden has been walking in the shadow of the blues for decades now, every now and then referring to the people whose art inspired him to choose this genre and explore it in the company of David Coverdale and other heavyweights. However, recently the veteran decided to go back to the source and started what he calls “Inspiration Series”: an array of albums on which Bernie gets to play old classics, with “Kings” beginning the run in July and “Chess” set to continue the journey down memory lane on November 26th.

As the platter’s title suggests, it’s the iconic Chicago label’s material that Marsden is covering here, taking on gems by the likes of Sonny Boy Williamson, Muddy Waters and Chuck Berry and wrapping it up with his own instrumental pieces: “Lester” and “Johnny” – dedicated to, apparently, Bobby Lester and Johnny “Guitar” Watson.


1. Just Your Fool
2. Back In The USA
3. Grits Ain’t Groceries
4. I’m Ready
5. You Can’t Judge A Book
6. I Can’t Hold Out
7. Won’t Be Hanging Around
8. Fattening Frogs For Snakes
9. That’s Alright
10. Who’s Been Talking
11. Lester
12. Johnny


Posted in News Tagged

Youth And Penny Rimbaud Host Eve Libertine On New Album

November 17, 2021

It’s been decade since former KILLING JOKE bassist Youth and ex-CRASS drummer Penny Rimbaud first set to work on a joint project that would result in an album titled “Corpus Mei” – but not before its songs were remixed in 2019 and prepared for the November 19th release now. And if that didn’t correspond to the British punk veterans’ anarchic spirit, the record’s creation did. During 2011, when all of the tracks got laid down, Penny would find a poem in his backlog which fit one of Youth’s soundscapes, and they’d record vocals for all the first takes to make the final cut.

Corpus Mei

But one of the platter’s pieces features a different voice, as “I Too” has another CRASS alumnus, Eve Libertine, at the front, with the number’s overdubs including cello and violin to elevate the ensemble’s performance. Watch the video below – and here’s the album’s full tracklisting:

1. Somewhere Over The Rainbow
2. Mammon’s Minions
3. We The Mountain We The Sea
4. And If I Lust
5. I Too
6. Incantations Of Intimacy
7. You Stare
8. You Brave Old Land
9. Shadows
10. Bread & Wine


Posted in News Tagged , ,