April 21, 2003

M & M and M & M = M3

A strange arithmetic this may be, but ain’t rock ‘n’ roll a strange thing altogether? Here’s a new band, M3, featuring former WHITESNAKE members, Bernie Marsden, Mickey Moody and Neil Murray, and Neil’s BLACK SABBATH bandmate, Tony Martin. That makes four “M”, not three, yet it’s only ‘SNAKE credentials that seem to count now, even M3’s official web site being calledclassicwhitesnake.com. Rouding the line-up are ex-BIG COUNTRY Josh Phillips and drummer Jim Copley, who played previously with Paul Rodgers. A couple of tour dates are already set. More on the promising ensemble in forthcoming Neil Murray interview at the DME site.


Bernie Marsden is not the kind of guys who stand still, but moving, he’s not forgetting his glorious past that saw him grace some of the best bands around. Perhaps, the least famous of those was ALASKA. Having released a couple of albums back in the ’80s, Bernie has a good smattering of that project unreleased pieces in his closet, which is opened now to make unissued cuts, alternative versions and demos avalable to public. There will be two parts, and “Anthology 1” looks like this:

1. Need Your Love
2. Friends Are For
3. Bad Boy
4. SOS
5. If Loving You Is Wrong
6. The Sorcerer
7. So Wrong
8. Anything You Want
9. Take What You Want
10. Too Much
11. Cherry’s On The Rocks Again
12. Just Another Day
13. Heart Of The Storm

One of the combos Mr Marsden wrapped himself in was U.F.O., and now there’s an offshoot project of this monster, THE PLOT, brought forth an album. The ensemble’s core are – or were – bassist Pete Way and Bernie’s successor, Michael Schenker, who rock and roll on “The Plot”, accompanied by Jeff Martin of BADLANDS. A power trio, yes. An interview with Pete is on the cards, and here’s what to talk about:

1. You And Me
2. Need Her Bad
3. Kicked Out
4. Miss You Tonight
5. Born Again
6. Take Another Shot
7. Shake Down
8. Senorita
9. Just My Luck
10. Wild Wild Things
11. Ain’t Got You
12. Might As Well Go Drinkin’


Jack Bruce has always been one hell of a musician, effortlessly embracing blues, jazz rock and putting his Midas touch on everything. Always adventurous in the studio, on-stage is where Jack shines the greatest – from his Alexis Korner and CREAM days to now. To be convinced he’s still the same, one should go no further than “Live At Canterbury”, a DVD just released by Classic Rock Productions. Recorded at the Canterbury Fayre music festival last summer, it catches top-notch performance by Bruce and his CUICOLAND EXPRESS featuring, among others, former P-FUNK meister Bernie Worrell, Jack’s collaborator on 1995’s magnificient “Monkjack”, and ex-LIVING COLOR Vernon Reid, who played on 2001’s "Shadows In The Air". The material from the latter found its way into Jack’s concert set, augmented on the DVD with the interview footage.

1. Surge
2. Sunshine Of Your Love
3. 52nd St.
4. This Anger’s A Liar
5. Theme For An Imaginary Western
6. Milonga
7. Windowless Rooms
8. Dark Heart
9. White Room
10. Politician

Meanwhile, Jack Bruce re-issue programme is underway and, surprisingly, not only adds collectable material to the musician’s classic albums but also unearthes two previously unreleased titles, the first being “Live At Manchester Free Trade Hall, 1975”, a double-CD set featuring Mick Taylor, fresh from THE ROLLING STONES, and Carla Bley:

1. Can You Follow?
2. Morning Story
3. Keep It Down
4. Pieces Of Mind
5. Tickets Of Waterfalls / Weird Of Hermiston / Post War
6. Spirit
7. One / You Burned The Tables On Me
8. Smiles & Grins
9. Sunshine Of Your Love

The second CD is called “Jet Set Jewel”: recorded back in 1978, it remained in the vaults until now, although three tracks from it cropped on the “Willpower “ compilation in 1989.

1. The Boy
2. Head In The Sun
3. Neighbour, Neighbour
4. Childsong
5. Jet Set Jewel
6. Please
7. Maybe The Dawn
8. Mickey The Fiddler
9. She’s Moving On
10. The Best Is Still To Come


End of May in Japan and June in Europe will see the release of the new Glenn Hughes‘ album, “Songs In The Key Of Rock”. With the title being an allusion of Glenn’s hero Stevie Wonder’s masterpiece “Songs In The Key Of Life” and touted by Hughes as a return to his ’70s heyday, the record must be huge even if it’s just a bit better than 2002’s “Building The Machine”. Still, you can never quite be sure with this guy, so keep you finger’s crossed and money ready.

1. In My Blood
2. Lost In The Zone
3. Gasoline
4. Higher Places (Song For Bonzo)
5. Get You Stoned
6. Written All Over Your Face
7. Standing On The Rock
8. Courageous
9. Change (Japanese bonus)
10. The Truth
11. Wherever You Go


Another chance for THE WHO fans to rejoice: after long-overdue re-issue of “My Generation”, the shelves are to be hit by the “Who’s Next” Deluxe Edition. Deluxe means deluxe: there’s twice as much material than on the original 1971’s album on the two CDs. While the second one is the live recordings made at London’s “The Young Vic” theater, the main treat is the additional tracks on the first discs, which come from the notorious “Lifehouse” sessions. Still not released in their entirety – Pete Townshend’s tapes released under the same title had been done later – those provided the foundation for some LPs, and here’s the part that ended up on “Who’s Next”. As for bonuses from the actual recording sessions for the album, there’s none.

Disc 1:

1. Baba O’Riley
2. Bargain
3. Love Ain’t For Keeping
4. My Wife
5. The Song Is Over
6. Getting In Tune
7. Going Mobile
8. Behind Blue Eyes
9. Won’t Get Fooled Again
bonus tracks:
10. Baby Don’t You Do It (feat. Leslie West)
11. Getting In Tune
12. Pure And Easy
13. Love Ain’t For Keeping
14. Behind Blue Eyes
14. Won’t Get Fooled Again (feat. Al Kooper)

Disc 2 – Live At The Young Vic:

1. Love Ain’t For Keeping
2. Pure And Easy
3. Young Man Blues
4. Time Is Passing
5. Behind Blue Eyes
6. I Don’t Even Know Myself
7. Too Much
8. Of Anything
9. Getting In Tune
10. Bargain
11. My Generation
12. (I’m A) Road Runner
13. Naked Eye
13. Won’t Get Fooled Again


Last year proved vital for AYREON, as the project’s mastermind Arjen Lukassen finally managed to take on the road and play live. For those who missed the tour, there’s still a chance to have a taste of it on April 28th, when “Ayreon”, a double CD and DVD are out. The main content is the same on both formats, although DVD contains three bonus cuts.

Disc 1:

1. Intro / Lift Off
2. Set Your Controls
3. High Moon
4. Dreamtime
5. Eyes Of Time
6. Songs Of The Ocean
7. Dawn Of A Million Souls
8. The Dream Sequencer
9. Into the Black Hole
10. Actual Fantasy
11. Valley Of The Queens

Disc 2:

12. Isis And Osiris
13. Amazing Flight In Space
14. Intergalactic Space Crusaders
15. Castle Hall
16. The Eye Of Ra
17. Starchild
18. The Two Gates

April 21, 2003

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *