April 30, 2002


“All You Need Is Love,” this BEATLES’ song Queen Elizabeth is going to be singing for the nation as part of her Golden Jubilee celebration on June 3. The Queen will start the song which will be passed around to musicians in 21 locations throughout the UK, and there will be 5 million balloons with the lyrics handed out by Lottery outlets for the public to sing along. Later in the day Sir Paul McCartney is to play the Lennon’s song, the first ever broadcast worldwide in 1967, at a Buckingham Palace concert alongside Eric Clapton, Brian Wilson and the like.


Two years on since the remastered version of DEEP PURPLE’s “Who Do We Think We Are” album was released in Europe, an American issue is on the way. The CD will be the same as a European one even though there more tapes from the original sessions have been unearthed recently, the first containing early takes of “Woman From Tokyo” while the second has three early attempts of “Mary Long” on it – all without solo or vocal leads. Regarding material unreleased in any form, the dicoveries include a bluesy instrumental and a speeded-up version of “Telstar” written by Joe Meek, who Ritchie Blackmore worked for in the ’60s. As of now, plans to issue the rarities are none.


Whatever long the FAIRPORT CONVENTION history may be, there was only one concert album, “Live / A Moveable Feast”, released with marvellous Sandy Dennyon vocals. Now there’s going to be two, with the upcoming release from N-M-C Music. Titled "Before The Moon" and accompanied by an exclusive interview with the band’s bassist Dave Pegg, the recording harkens back to early 1974 to a small club in Denver, Colorado. The initial pressing is the limited edition 2 CD set which includes two shows, each given a separate disc, while later it will be a single disc.

CD 1:

1. Rising For The Moon
2. Solo (Sandy’s song)
3. Dirty Linen
4. One More Chance
5. Sloth
6. It’ll Take A Long Time
7. Matty Groves
8. Hens March / Medley
9. Down in the Flood

CD 2:

1. Matty Groves
2. Solo
3. Dirty Linen
4. Fiddlestix
5. Who Knows Where The Time Goes
6. Like An Old Fashioned Waltz
7. Hexhamshire Lass
8. Bring ‘em Down
9. Down In The Flood
10. John The Gun
11. Sir B McKenzie


THE ROLLING STONES seem to be slowly building plans for their 40th anniversary. With the touring possibility and a kind of anthology that’s been promised for some time, there may be new tracks recorded to make it to the retrospective, as the complete album is hardly to happen as of now. The word has the band meeting this summer in Paris and four tracks to be committed to tape.


AC/DC throat-ripper Brian Johnson is spending his time finishing a musical called “Helen Of Troy” that he started working on six years ago. The love story based on Greek mythology will see the Geordie singer collaboration with British composer Brendan Healy and Sarasota Ballet artistic director Robert de Warren, and a narrator Zeus role is likely to be played by Johnson’s famous friend Malcolm McDowell. Currently, there are 14 songs ready, so a premiere is to be held in March 2003 at the Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall in Sarasota, Florida with a national tour to follow. The budget of the show goes up to $1.2 million.

April 30, 2002

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *