April 9, 2003


To say that Paul McCartney‘s wealth comes from THE BEATLES royalties only would do no justice to his good feel for the right investments, including those into the music catalogues. Macca owns rights to the songs by Buddy Holly and Scott Joplin, to “Hello, Dolly” and “Happy Birthday” among others, and now 23 cuts by Carl Perkins are at Paul’s disposal, too. There are the tunes the Fabs, Carl’s fans, covered – “Honey Don’t”, “Everybody’s Trying To Be My Baby” and “Matchbox” – and the one Elvis took to the top, “Blue Suede Shoes”.

Perkins, who died in 1998, was present at the BEATLES’ sessions which produced their versions of his classics, and in 1982 took part in McCartney’s “Tug Of War”, so there’s a fair belief in that Carl’s catalogue won’t get mis-handled now.


Even though 2002 must have proven a hectic time for Steve Hackett with all the touring and putting out the “Somewhere In South America…” 2CD / DVD package, the guitar maestro got inspired enough to come up with a new album – a real rock one! – called “To Watch The Storms”, tentatively released on May 26th. Recorded with Steve’s touring band plus old pal Ian McDonald (of KING CRIMSON and FOREIGNER fame), who accompanied Hackett on his famous 1996’s Japan gig, the album will appear in two formats: the standard edition with 8-page booklet and a deluxe special edition package housed, with a 48-page hard back book, in a slipcase.

That’s how the artist himself describes what he brings on,
“Some songs are influenced by schools of thought that at one time would have been deemed incompatible… In other words this is an album deliberately designed to confound the purists! This record is something of a personal sampler – from the freedom of jazz to the strictures of classical, but emotionally it feels like one hell of a musical journey”.
Sounds like something not to be missed out, does it? And looks like this:

Standard Edition

1. Strutton Ground
2. Circus Of Becoming
3. The Devil Is An Englishman
4. Frozen Statues
5. Mechanical Bride
6. Wind, Sand And Stars
7. Brand New
8. This World
9. Rebecca
10. The Silk Road
11. Come Away
12. The Moon Under Water
13. Serpentine Song

Special Edition

1. Strutton Ground
2. Circus Of Becoming
3. The Devil Is An Englishman
4. Frozen Statues
5. Mechanical Bride
6. Wind, Sand And Stars
7. Brand New
8. This World
9. Rebecca
10. The Silk Road
11. Pollution B
12. Fire Island
13. Marijuana, Assassin Of Youth
14. Come Away
15. The Moon Under Water
16. Serpentine Song
17. If You Only Knew


Once upon a time there lived a supergroup, though the term was yet to be coined, and the ensemble were known as THE WARRIORS. Some of them had risen to bigger things with the time, John Anderson dropping an “h” and fronting YES, his brother Tony taking to LOS BRAVOS, bassist David Foster anchoring BADGER and drummer Ian Wallace joining KING CRIMSON and becoming an in-demand session player. But that was later, while during the ’60s THE WARRIORS did rock, having released a single called “You Came Along” for Decca in 1964, appearing on “Thank Your Lucky Stars” legendary show and touring, touring, touring…

More on the band read in a forthcoming Ian Wallace interview, but the subject emerged with the recording from those tours being released by Voiceprint. Sure, “Bolton Club ’65” is a covers set, yet knowing what those boys evolved into, the value’s higher than the price.

1. You’re Always On My Mind
2. No-one Can Make My Sunshine Smile
3. Jump Bach
4. You Can’t Lie To A Liar
5. I’m Down
6. Runaround Sue
7. Crying In The Rain
8. Hit The Road, Jack
9. She’s A Woman
10. Fortune Teller
11. Too Much Monkey Business
12. Unidentified
13. Don’t You Dig This Kinda Beat
14. Hey Baby
15. A Fool Such As I So Sad
16. Be My Baby
17. Bad Bad Time
18. Love Is Where You Find It
19. Summer Girl
20. I’m Down
21. Something’s Got A Hold On Me


This age seems to be missing a powerful and melodic supergroup, so there’s always a solid demand for the products of one. And the one always in demand is ASIA, not the band Geoff Downes is still at the helm of, but an ensemble which was riding high in the ’80s. No wonder, then, that Voiceprint has some titles to offer to the thirsty, the first being “Dragon Attack”, another document from the 1990’s “Now And Then” tour:

Disc 1:

1. Opening
2. Wildest Dreams
3. Sole Survivor
4. Don’t Cry
5. Voice Of America
6. Geoff Downes’ solo / Cutting It Fine
7. Video Killed The Radio Star
8. Majesty
9. Time Again
10. Praying For A Miracle
11. Only Time Will Tell
12. Rendez-vous 6:02
13. Book Of Saturday

Disc 2:

1. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
2. Days Like These
3. The Heat Goes On / Carl Palmer’s solo
4. Go
5. Heat Of The Moment
6. Open Your Eyes

Next title comes from Geoff Downes“The Collection” sums up the keyboard player’s of THE BUGGLES, YES and ASIA 25-year long career with an array of stunning tracks, originals as well as covers done in Geoff’s recognisable style, plus a couple of previously unreleased cuts. Quite a deal!

1. East West
2. Just As Long
3. Video Killed The Radio Star
4. Roads Of Destiny
5. Concerto
6. England
7. Nights In White Satin
8. Whiter Shade Of Pale
9. Dust In The Wind
10. Don’t Walk Away
11. Downes Solo
12. The Journey Begins
13. Moscow
14. London
15. Zurich
16. Paris
17. World Service
18. Fly
19. Video Killed The Radio Star

Meanwhile, here’s another official bootleg by Downes’ partner in crime, John Wetton, third in this year’s line. Judging on its content, “Live in Osaka” has been recorded during the veteran’s October ’97 Japanese trek. Will there be more until the 2003 ends?

Disc 1:

1. Intro
2. The Last Thing On My Mind
3. Sole Survivor
4. I Can’t Lie Any Moore
5. Battlelines
6. John Young’s solo
7. Arkangel
8. Emma
9. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
10. The Night Watch
11. Hold Me Now

Disc 2:

1. Rendezvous 6:02
2. Thomas Lang’s solo
3. Easy Money
4. In The Dead Of Night
5. After All
6. Heat Of The Moment
7. Starless
8. Don’t Cry


April 9, 2003

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.