Ashley Hutchings runs for riot

There’s no pun in Russian title for what is known in English as “The Rite Of Spring”, nor it is in French, but when this ballet debuted in Théâtre des Champs-Élysées on May 29th, 1913, the Parisian public, who didn’t understand Igor Stravinsky’s experimental work, resolved to an almost riot. Picking on that fact, Ashley Hutchings, the founding member of three folk rock flagships – FAIRPORT CONVENTION, STEELEYE SPAN and THE ALBION BAND – has called his latest album, out now, “The Riot Of Spring,” although the actual title is much longer.


The Riot Of Spring

In full it goes like this: “The Riot Of Spring And Other Historical Dramas, Large And Smalla Collection Of Music Compiled By Ashley Hutchings,” its title track having been written by Tyger, as Ashley’s known, specially for this album and is based upon Stravinsky’s classic. The rest is mostly traditional and includes such popular staples as “Matty Groves” and “John Barleycorn.”

1. The Riot Of Spring
2. Battle Of The Somme
3. Bonny Labouring Boy
4. I’m A Poor Dressmaker
5. Betteshanger Treasure
6. A Chromosome Or Two
7. Ivory Tower
8. I’m Going Away, Love
9. The Day Came When The Doctor Called In The Relieving Officer
10. John Barleycorn
11. Matty Groves
12. The Trees They Do Grow High
13. Seven Strong Spires
14. Michael Morey’s Hump
15. The Party’s Over
16. Ill Omens
17. Two Thousand Years Is A Very Long Time

November 13, 2014

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.