BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS Remember Trip Behind The Iron Curtain

As many a connoisseur knows, Western rock was practically forbidden in the Warsaw Pact territories, even though a few forays into socialist countries did occur – possibly starting with THE ROLLING STONES’ visit to Poland in 1967. One of their followers, BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS embarked on a tour through Yugoslavia, Romania and Poland in 1970 – and that’s what the forthcoming, planned to hear the screens in March, documentary “What The Hell Happened To Blood, Sweat & Tears” is all about. Of course, there’s music in the film, its soundtrack scheduled for release on April 21st.

By that time the American jazz-rock purveyors had two albums scaling the charts and the third ready to see the light of day, so material from all of those LPs was taken to the stage and across the borders, including the fresh cuts “Hi-De-Ho” and “Somethin’ Comin’ On” alongside hits like “Spinning Wheel” and covers, but for the U.S. State Department and Nixon administration music mattered much less than politics, and naturally problems reared their ugly heads – which didn’t affect the songs, as can be heard on this historic album. A must-have item item in many an aspect.

What The Hell Happened To
Blood, Sweat & Tears: OST

1. Somethin’ Comin’ On
2. God Bless The Child
3. Spinning Wheel
4. Hi-De-Ho
5. Something Goin’ On / Blues Part II
6. And When I Die
7. Sometimes In Winter
8. Smiling Phases
9. You’ve Made Me So Very Happy
10. I Can’t Quit Her

March 2, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *