BLUE ÖYSTER CULT Celebrate Their Jubilee By Going Back In Time

Nothing can spell an ensemble’s stamina and vitality as rehearsing and performing three nights in a row three of their first albums – entirely, including pieces that have never been taken to stage previously – plus a selection of their popular cuts and less-remembered tracks alike. But that’s what BLUE ÖYSTER CULT endeavored to do in September 2022 in New York to commemorate the collective’s 50th anniversary: the first evening found the veterans play their eponymous debut from 1972, the next show was dedicated to “Tyranny And Mutation” from 1973, and the last outing saw the restoration of “Secret Treaties” from 1974 – altogether, the initial onslaught of Sandy Pearlman’s mystic vision. And all of this got recorded and filmed for a future issue.

Of course, it had to be, what with the presence of the classic line-up drummer Albert Bouchard alongside his former compadres Eric Bloom and Buck Dharma and their current colleague. The first release in this alluring series is slated for December 8th – titled “50th Anniversary Live – First Night” and to be made available as a 2CD/DVD set and a triple LP. Our ears will melt and then our eyes!

50th Anniversary Live –
First Night

1. Transmaniacon MC
2. I’m On The Lamb But I Ain’t No Sheep
3. Then Came The Last Days Of May
4. Stairway To The Stars
5. Before The Kiss, A Redcap
6. Screams
7. She’s As Beautiful As A Foot
8. Cities On Flame With Rock And Roll
9. Workshop Of The Telescopes
10. Redeemed
11. Dr. Music
12. Burnin’ For You
13. Train True (Lenny’s Song)
14. Tainted Blood
15. Harvest Moon
16. Dancin’ In The Ruins
17. The Vigil
18. Career Of Evil
19. Box In My Head
20. Godzilla
21. (Don’t Fear) The Reaper
22. In Thee
23. That Was Me
24. Hot Rails To Hell

October 8, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *