CANNED HEAT Plan Retirement With Joe Bonamassa In Tow

Despite their legendary status and uninterrupted, since 1965, existence, CANNED HEAT – still led by original drummer Adolfo de la Parra – have kept their profile low for almost two decades, not releasing a new record since “Christmas Album” which was issued back in 2007. Yet there’s going be one on the verge of the American ensemble’s 60th anniversary – one suggesting the end of their long career in both its title and choice of tracks. As far as farewells go, “Finyl Vinyl” that will see the light of day on March 29th as both LP and CD, should turn out fine.

Opening with singing guitarist Jimmy Vivino’s “One Last Boogie” and including a fresh take on “So Sad (The World’s In A Tangle)” from the band’s 1970 offering “Future Blues” – now featuring none other than Joe Bonamassa – this platter is a worthy finale of their glorious history that’s also referred to in “Blind Owl” for it was the nickname of another founding member, the late Alan Wilson. There ain’t no doubt: when “There Goes That Train” meets silence and the veterans’ 2024 tour is over, they will be remembered with a lot of fondness.

Finyl Vinyl

1. One Last Boogie
2. Blind Owl
3. Goin’ To Heaven (In A Pontiac)
4. So Sad (The World’s In A Tangle)
5. East/West Boogie
6. Tease Me
7. A Hot Ole Time
8. You’re The One
9. When You’re 69
10. Independence Day
11. There Goes That Train

February 28, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *