Today, CAPTAIN BEYOND are remembered my many thanks to this band’s singer’s connection to DEEP PURPLE, there was more to this quartet than Rod Evans’ vocals. It was a genuine supergroup, with their drummer Bobby Caldwell coming out of Johnny Winter’s ensemble and guitarist Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt and bassist Lee Dorman’s stint with IRON BUTTERFLY. Together, the foursome delivered a power mix of progressive and heavy rock but closed the shop in 1973, only to get back, in different configurations, in 1976 and 1998.

The later line-ups never ignited the crowd as much as the original, Evans-fronted one, and such an ignition is best experienced on concert tapes, several of which have been in circulation for a long time, the most interesting coming from a 1973 Texas show, where CAPTAIN opened for KING CRIMSON. There were semi-official releases of it, yet not a full recording of the show is to be released under the title “Live In Texas – October 6, 1973”, with Bobby Caldwell contributing to the liner notes. Unfortunately, Dorman and Reinhardt are no longer with us, and Evans’ whereabouts have remained a mystery for years, so this is a unique document of their glorious collaboration.


Live In Texas

  1. Distant Sun
  2. Dancing Madly Backwards (On A Sea Of Air)
  3. Armworth
  4. Myopic Void
  5. Drifting In Space
  6. Pandora’s Box (It’s War)
  7. Thousand Days Of Yesterday
  8. Frozen Over
  9. Mesmerization Eclipse
  10. Stone Free

April 23, 2013

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *