CATAPILLA Unearth Archival Rehearsal Tape

There’s a lot of misunderstanding with regards to this British group – which might seem natural for an experimental jazz-rock ensemble – but a lot of misinformation as well. Despite the fact that CATAPILLA were led, between 1970 and 1972, by saxophonist named Robert Calvert, it was not the future frontman of HAWKWIND – it was his namesake whose vision outlined what the band pursued on their two albums before splitting and seeing their leader play alongside Daevid Allen and Gilli Smyth in various GONG offshoots. Still, the interest in his original collective never faded, which is why their 1971’s self-titled debut LP and “Changes” from the following year got reissued time after time, and no one could imagine further releases from the defunct – until now.

December 2nd is when their recently discovered rehearsal tape from 1970 will be out under the title “Embryonic Fusion”: a collection of CATAPILLA’s early material, including a couple of cuts from the group’s yet-to-be-recorded first album and different bits and pieces that would make it onto the vinyl later, plus a cover of a TRAFFIC classic. Of course, this CD shouldn’t attract the attention of occasional listener, yet the underground avant-garde aficionados must be delighted to hear these numbers.

Embryonic Fusion

1. Promises
2. Tumbleweed
3. Polly’s Baby
4. Stag Beetle
5. Got Too Many Things On My Mind
6. Happiness Is A Fun Thing
7. Writing On The Wall
8. Looking Ahead
9. Dear Mr. Fantasy

November 16, 2022

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *