Dave Davies Cuts A Concert Album

Demonstrating an enviable stamina, Dave Davies has been playing on-stage for some time now and is gearing up for a tour again, and it was ten years after his stroke, in November 2014, that the guitarist recorded two of his American shows in order to compile an album, his first live one since 2003’s “Transformation.” Titled “Rippin’ Up New York City: Live At The City Winery” and scheduled for a September 4th release, it’s a nice selection of Davies’ songs that includes THE KINKS perennials such as Dave-penned “Death Of A Clown,” which became his first solo single, and “Suzannah’s Still Alive” as well as less remembered pieces like “Flowers In The Rain” from 2002’s “Bug” and a few cuts from the veteran’s latest studio work, "Rippin' Up Time", but, strangely, nothing from its predecessor "I Will Be Me", yet there’s still enough enjoyable moments.

Full song list runs like this (and here’s the review:

DAVE DAVIES - Rippin' Up New York City: Live At The City Winery

Rippin’ Up New York City:
Live At The City Winery

1. Intro
2. Rippin’ Up Time
3. I’m Not Like Everybody Else
4. I Need You
5. Creepin’ Jean
6. Suzannah’s Still Alive
7. See My Friend
8. Strangers
9. Flowers In The Rain
10. Front Room
11. King Of Karaoke
12. Death Of A Clown
13. Livin’ On A Thin Line
14. Where Have All The Good Times Gone
15. All Day And All Of The Night
16. You Really Got Me

August 13, 2015

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *