December 28, 2004


On November 26th, 1968 CREAM graced the Royal Albert Hall stage for their last concert ever, preserved for posterity on“Goodbye Cream”. Or it was supposed to be their last. It’s been supposed for a long time, the 1993’s short performance at the power trio’s induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame not counting. The three collaborated in pairs from time to time, lastly on Jack Bruce’s "Shadows In The Air", where Eric Clapton guested on new versions of CREAM’s “White Room” and “Sunshine Of Your Love”. Now, the old feud between Jack and Ginger Baker seems to be laid to rest, as Eric’s announced the band’s intention to come onto the same old stage again, for four shows in May 2005. Hopefully, Bruce’s health has nothing to do with the threesome desire to make it again…


As the Yuletitude was drawing near, JETHRO TULL pulled on some seasonal activity again. After last year’s “Christmas Album”, this time they came up with an EP, “Merry Christmas”, out in the UK. There’s only three cuts on there, “Ring Out Solstice Bells” pinched out from the aforementioned album, and the other two live performances from the 2004 tour. It’s a limited edition of only 2,500 copies, and Ian Anderson asks all the buyers to donate $1 to Wild About Cats via PayPal.

1. Ring Out Solstice Bells
2. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
3. Slipstream

Also in limited quantity out is a special USA re-release of “Christmas Album”, augmented with a bonus DVD containing three songs – “My Sunday Feeling”, “Jack in the Green” and “Life’s A Long Song” from the 2002’s “Living In The Past” programme.

As for something more interesting, last November saw the release of TULL’s “Live At The Isle Of Wight 1970” CD. A legendary performance known to many only by “My Sunday Feeling” that made it onto the “Message To Love” documentary soundtrack, now is here in its entirety, featuring “My God”, then yet to see the light of day on“Aqualung”:

1. My Sunday Feeling
2. My God
3. With You There To Help Me
4. To Cry You A Song
5. Beret
6. Dharma For One
7. Nothing Is Easy
8. Medley


If there’s a singer who can still wiggle out some croaky screams of rapture not only from a woman’s heart but from a grown-up music lover, too, it’s Rod Stewart. Deep into the American crooning classics lately, the nosy scot doesn’t forget the songs that endeared him to almost everybody, and here’s the proof: the “One Night Only!”DVD recorded earlier this year at the Royal Albert Hall. An indispensable purchase for those who’s been hooked on Rod since his first glory days, as here’s everything the fan needs, from “I Ain’t Superstitious” and “Rock My Plimsoul”, originally cut by Stewart with THE JEFF BECK GROUP, to the smashes which are “Sailing” and “Maggie May”.

1. Tonight I’m Yours
2. This Old Heart of Mine
3. Handbags And Gladrags
4. Reason To Believe
5. Stay With Me
6. Hot Legs
7. Rhythm Of My Heart
8. First Cut Is The Deepest
9. You’re In My Heart
10. Downtown Train
11. It Takes Two
12. What Am I Goin To Do
13. Baby Jane
14. I Ain’t Superstitious
15. Rock My Plimsoul
16. Blue Moon
17. Can’t Take That Away From Me
18. What A Wonderful World
19. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered
20. For Sentimental Reasons
21. As Time Goes By
22. Have I Told You Lately
23. Tonight’s The Night
24. Maggie May
25. Sailing


Experimenting is not what
Joe Lynn Turner is up for, mostly because his supporters don’t like it that much. So while Turner’s partner in crime, Glenn Hughes does his own thing, Joe sticks to what he’s good at – melodic, soul-infused hard rock. On the same label, though. “The Usual Suspects”, his new album, is out on February 21st. The title explains it all: the music is what everyone expects, the players, including Al Pitrelli, what everybody suspects. Who’ll ask for more, then?

1. Power Of Love
2. Devil’s Door
3. Jacknife
4. Really Loved
5. Rest Of My Life
6. Into The Fire
7. Blood Money
8. All Alone
9. Ball And Chain
10. Live And Love Again
11. Unfinished Bizness (European bonus)


He seems to be ignored by people who don’t know what Long John Baldry did to British popular music. Without him, the Blighty blues wouldn’t be what it is now – and Reg Dwight, a keyboardist in Baldry’s BLUESOLOGY, would be Elton Something-Other, not John. Sir El remembered his mentor when hit the big time, and with another John’s band’s alumnus, Rod Stewart, produced two singer’s albums: 1971’s “It Ain’t Easy” and 1972’s “Everything Stops For Tea”. Which are to be re-issued in February with valuable bonus tracks. Note the other Jonh’s – Dr. John’s – “Iko Iko” on the second one.

It Ain’t Easy
1. Conditional Discharge
2. Don’t Try To Lay No Boogie Woogie
3. Black Girl
4. It Ain’t Easy
5. Morning Morning
6. I’m Ready
7. Let’s Burn Down The Cornfield
8. Mr Rubin
9. Rock Me When He’s Gone
10. Flying
11. Going Down Slow
12. Blues
13. Black Girl (alt. version)
14. It Ain’t Easy (alt. version)
15. I’m Ready (alt. version)
16. Love In Vain (unreleased)
17. Midnight Hour Blues (unreleased)
Everything Stops For Tea
1. Come Back Again
2. Seventh Son
3. Wild Mountain Thyme
4. Iko Iko
5. Jubilee Cloud
6. Everything Stops For Tea
7. You Can’t Judge A Book
8. Mother Ain’t Dead
9. Hambone
10. Lord Remember Me
11. Armit’s Trousers
12. Bring My Baby Back (live)
13. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (with Joyce Everson)
14. I’m Just A Rake And A Rambling Boy

December 28, 2004

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.