Earliest Barbra Streisand Tapes Are Ready For Release

It was sixty years ago, at the time when labels found it easier to tape young artists on stage before bringing them to proper facilities, that the young Barbra Streisand signed a contract with Columbia and saw her three November concerts at “The Bon Soir” nightclub in Greenwich Village preserved for posterity only for the recordings to get discarded because part of the same repertoire the 20-years-old chanteuse laid down two and a half months later in the studio for “The Barbra Streisand Album” turned out to be more alluring – if, arguably, less exciting. However, the tapes survived, and will be issued on the six-decade anniversary of their rolling, on November 4th.

Accompanied by her usual band – piano player Peter Daniels, guitarist Tiger Haynes, bassist Avril Pollard and drummer John Cressi – Streisand performed perennials and show tunes penned by the likes of Leonard Bernstein, Cole Porter and Oscar Hammerstein of which the best versions were culled to be included in “Live At The Bon Soir” in an almost original order. It’s Barbra’s earlier songs to see an official release, and their historic value cannot be overstimated.

Live At The Bon Soir

1. Introduction by David Kapralik / My Name Is Barbara
2. Much More
3. Napoleon
4. I Hate Music
5. Right As The Rain
6. Cry Me A River
7. Value
8. Lover, Come Back To Me
9. Band Introductions
10. Soon It’s Gonna Rain
11. Come To The Supermarket (In Old Peking)
12. When The Sun Comes Out
13. Happy Days Are Here Again
14. Keepin’ Out Of Mischief Now
15. A Sleepin’ Bee
16. I Had Myself A True Love
17. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
18. Who’s Afraid Of The Big Bad Wolf?
19. I’ll Tell The Man In The Street
20. A Taste Of Honey
21. Never Will I Marry
22. Nobody’s Heart Belongs To Me
23. My Honey’s Lovin’ Arms
24. I Stayed Too Long At The Fair

October 26, 2022

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *