Jah Wobble Reimagines “Metal Box”

This November will mark the staggering 42 years – 21 years before the turn of the millennium and 21 after – since the release of “Metal Box”: PiL’s magnum opus that marked the apex of creative collaboration between John Lydon, Jah Wobble and Keith Levene, a post-punk classic whose songs such as “Death Disco” – renamed to “Swan Lake” for the album release – reverberate to this day. Which is why, perhaps, Wobble, now a highly influential producer and a master of a certain drum-and-bass recording technique, decided to revisit the platter and came up with “Metal Box – Rebuilt in Dub” that’s scheduled for the November 19th issue.

It features Jah’s reworkings of eight of the LP’s tracks – basically three sides of the album’s second edition, the first being put out on three EPs – and, as bonus cuts, fresh re-recordings of two numbers from PiL’s debut. Looks like something worthy of delving in (read the review).

Metal Box – Rebuilt in Dub

1. Albatross
2. Memories
3. Swan Lake
4. Poptones
5. Careering
6. Graveyard
7. The Suit
8. Socialist
bonus tracks:
9. Public Image
10. Fodderstompf

October 19, 2021

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *