Jimmy Page releases his soundtracks

Jimmy PageOne has to admit that after LED ZEPPELIN had broken up Jimmy Page hasn’t done much. The guitarist’s contribution to THE FIRM couldn’t rival his work with THE YARDBIRDS, and, for all its brilliance, his record with David Coverdale rarely gelled. The same can be said about Jimmy solo albums, while Page’s collaborations with Puff Daddy and Leona Lewis are better not to mention. Yet many forget the artist’s forays into the world of OSTs, and it these that will be documented on a 4CD-set which will see the light of day on March 6th.

Laid down in the late ’70s and early ’80s, the pieces that comprise “Sound Tracks” would land on two parts of “Death Wish” starring Charles Bronson and on “Lucifer Rising” but there’s also a previously unreleased material in the new box to show the music’s development. Of these, of special interest will be “City Sirens,” a future song on “The Firm” album. To be made available on CD and vinyl, the set also has a special signed edition. As for its full contents, they run as follows – and the samples are below:

JIMMY PAGE - Sound Tracks

JIMMY PAGE – Sound Tracks

Lucifer Rising

1. Lucifer Rising – Main Title
2. Incubus
3. Damask
4. Unharmonics
5. Damask – Ambient
6. Lucifer Rising – Percussive Return

Lucifer Rising – The Second Coming

1. Lucifer Rising Early Mix
2. Sonic Textures 1 – Earth
3. Sonic Textures 2 – Air
4. Sonic Textures 3 – Fire
5. Sonic Textures 4 – Water
6. Sonic Textures 5 – Ether

Death Wish II

1. Who’s To Blame
2. The Chase
3. City Sirens
4. Jam Sandwich
5. Carole’s Theme
6. The Release
7. Hotel Rats And Photostats
8. A Shadow In The City
9. Jill’s Theme
10. Prelude
11. Hypnotizing Ways
12. Main Title

Death Wish II – Expansion

1. Jill’s Orchestral Theme
2. Alternate Jill’s Theme
3. 9M1
4. City Sirens
5. Baby I Miss You So
6. Hey Mama / Swinging Sax
7. Carole’s Theme – Strings
8. Prelude
9. Country Sandwich
10. A Minor Sketch


February 14, 2015

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *