Some ensembles have humble starts with simple arrangements yet BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST didn’t recognized half-measures from the very beginning, their first two albums, the band’s self-titled debut from 1970 and “Once Again” featuring opulent strings and brass courtesy of symphonic orchestra, something they couldn’t afford onstage for many years afterwards. A new effort of this kind was taken by Les Holroyd’s version of the group, who issued “Classic Meets Rock” which documented the fraction’s tour with Prague Philharmonic Orchestra, while John Lees’ version of the collective invited The Slaithwaite Philharmonic Orchestra to enrich their sound on September 23rd, 2023 at Huddersfield Town Hall, giving a performance that had to be recorded.

And now the recording is ready for release. Packaged in a clamshell box bearing the legend “Philharmonic! The Orchestral Concert” will be two CDs, Blu-ray and DVD capturing the entire show in stunning visual and sonic quality, with stereo and 5.1 Surround Sound mixes by Stephen W Tayler lending the classic pieces, including such rarity as “Moonwater” that hadn’t been played live for five decades, a new lease of life. Must be good.

The Orchestral Concert

Part One:
1. Festive Overture – Shostakovich
2. Fifties Child
3. Galadriel
4. In My Life
5. Poor Man’s Moody Blues
6. North
7. Summer Soldier
8. The Poet
9. After The Day
Part Two:
10. Hornpipe – Handel’s Water Music
11. Moonwater
12. Mocking Bird
13. Loving Is Easy
14. She Said
15. Poor Wages
16. Medicine Man
17. Dark Now My Sky
18. On Leave
19. Hymn

April 27, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *