July 13, 2006


A funny thing: two major bands temporarily lost their singers – due to various reasons. But while Jeff Scott Soto is an adequate stand-in for Steve Augeri on JOURNEY‘s American tour, KINGS X’s Doug Pinnick filling in for Corey Glover for the LIVING COLOR‘s European dates will be an interesting experience for the audience. What’s more interesting is this new tendency of the vocalists’ swapping. Go figure! Who’s next?


Jon Lord wrote his “Concerto for Group and Orchestra” for DEEP PURPLE and there wasn’t originally a thought that this classical-meets-rock ‘n’ roll piece will ever be performed by anyone else. But it was – and will be. On July 20th and 21th the Italian public and those who is going to visit, respectively, Parma and Rimini, will have the unique possibility of listening to the concerto played by a jazz trio of organ, drums and bass, and the Arturo Toscanini Foundation orchestra. Must be delicious – or boring.


What with everyone’s remastering programmes, the mighty hitmakers called SLADE have been underserved on this front. But eventually, some good folks decided it was time to move on with the project, and August 21st will see the release of the quartet’s first four studuo albums,“Beginnings” and “Play It Loud” coupled as they’re short and worse than the band’s ’80s output, plus “Live Anthology” which gathers all classic SLADE’s concert recordings issued before. As of unissued material, every CD has some bonus cuts attached to it, and there’s a box set on the horizon that’ll be followed in 2007 by the rest of the ensemble’s albums. The hands get all sweaty.

1. Genesis
2. Everybody’s Next One
3. Knocking Nails Into My House
4. Roach Daddy
5. Ain’t Got No Heart
6. Pity The Mother
7. Mad Dog Cole
8. Fly Me High
9. If This World Were Mine
10. Martha My Dear
11. Born To Be Wild
12. Journey To The Centre Of Your Mind
“Play It Loud”
13. Raven
14. See Us Here
15. Dapple Rose
16. Could I
17. One Way Hotel
18. The Shape Of Things To Come
19. Know Who You Are
20. I Remember
21. Pouk Hill
22. Angelina
23. Dirty Joker
24. Sweet Box
bonus tracks
25. Wild Winds Are Blowing
26. Get Down And Get With It
1. How D’you Ride
2. The Whole World’s Goin’ Crazee
3. Look At Last Nite
4. I Won’t Let It ‘Appen Agen
5. Move Over
6. Gudbuy T’Jane
7. Gudbuy Gudbuy
8. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
9. I Don’ Mind
10. Let The Good Times Roll / Feel So Fine
bonus tracks
11. My Life Is Natural
12. Candidate
13. Wonderin’ Y
14. Man Who Speeks Evil
15. Slade talk to ‘Melanie’ readers
“Old New Borrowed And Blue”
1. Just A Little Bit
2. When The Lights Are Out
3. My Town
4. Find Yourself A Rainbow
5. Miles Out To Sea
6. We’re Really Gonna Raise The Roof
7. Do We Still Do It
8. How Can It Be
9. Don’t Blame Me
10. My Friend Stan
11. Everyday
12. Good Time Gals
bonus tracks
13. I’m Mee I’m Now And That’s Orl
14. Kill ‘Em At The Hot Club Tonite
15. The Bangin’ Man
16. She Did It To Me
17. Slade talk to “19” readers
Slade Alive – The Live Anthology
Disc 1:

“Slade Alive”
1. Hear me Calling
2. In Like A Shot From My Gun
3. Darling Be Home Soon
4. Know Who You Are
5. Keep On Rocking
6. Get Down And Get With It
7. Born To Be Wild
“Slade Alive Vol. II”
8. Get On Up
9. Take Me Bak ‘Ome
10. My Baby Left Me
11. Be
12. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
13. Burning In The Heat Of Love
14. Everyday
15. Gudbuy T’Jane
16. One Eyed Jacks With Moustaches
17. Cum On Feel The Noize

Disc 2:

“Slade On Stage”
1. Rock And Roll Preacher
2. When I’m Dancin’ I Ain’t Fightin’
3. Take Me Bak’ `Ome
4. Everyday
5. Lock Up Your Daughters
6. We’ll Bring The House Down
7. A Night To Remember
8. Gudbuy T’Jane
9. Mama Weer All Crazee Now
10. You’ll Never Walk Alone
“Alive At Reading ‘80” EPs
11. When I’m Dancin’ I Ain’t Fightin’
12. Born To Be Wild
13. Something Else / Pistol Packin’ Mama /
Keep A Rollin’
14. Merry Xmas Everybody
15. Okey Cokey
16. Get Down And Get With It

That’s the opening salvo. And here’s the programme schedule:
September 2006
– The Slade Box (4CD)
– Crackers
February 2007
– Slade In Flame
– Nobody’s Fools
– B-sides (2CD)
– Slade In Flame DVD Collectors Edition (incl. soundtrack)
April 2007
– Whatever Happened To Slade
– We’ll Bring The House Down (incl. tracks from “Return To Base”)
– Till Deaf Us Do Part
– Rockers (2CD)
June 2007 – The Amazing Kamikaze Syndrome
– Rogues Gallery
– You Boyz Make Big Noize
– Slade Collection Vol. 1
– Slade Collection Vol. 2

July 13, 2006

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *