July 24, 2005


“Someone saved my life tonight”, sang Elton John thirty years ago of the man whose name he adopted as his new surname. The life of Sugar Bear of the song, of Long John Baldry, wasn’t saved, and the music legend passed away at the Vancouver General Hospital, on July 21st. Aged only 64, John’s life was claimed by chest infection – a bitter irony: it’s from John’s chest that his magnificent voice roared mightily. A mentor for both Reg Dwight, the future Elton, in BLUESOLOGY, and Rod Stewart in THE HOOCHIE COOCHIE MEN and STEAMPACKET, Baldry had a big hand in shaping British blues as we know it now. There’s a smattering of his albums’ re-issues are out just now, and there’s no better way to remember Long John than to listen to his songs.


The guitar legend, Les Paul, the one whose name a famous Gibson model bears, turned 90 this year, and celebrations are afoot. A part of this is the veteran’s new album, titled simply “Les Paul and Friends”, as simply as it gets. To be released on August 29th, it features artists old and new but all famous to say the least, especially when it comes to Sam Cooke. Yes, it’s the Sam Cooke, and it was Jeff Beck’s idea to use the original vocal tracks of the man who died more than thirty years ago. The STONES, ZZ TOP, GOO GOO DOLLS and BON JOVI fans will all find something to relish here, even if they’ve never heard of some nonagenarion guitarist.

1. Intro
2. Love Sneakin Up On You – with Sting and Joss Stone 
3. Rock and Roll Hoochie Koo – with Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Edgar Winter
4. Somebody Ease My Troublin’ Mind – with Eric Clapton and Sam Cooke
5. So Into You – with Peter Frampton
6. How High The Moon – with Alsou
7. Bad Case Of Lovin You – with Billy Gibbons
8. I Wanna Know You – with Neal Schon & Beth Hart 
9. Good News – with Jeff Beck and Sam Cooke
10. Let Me Roll It – with Richie Sambora
11. Caravan
12. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl – with Buddy Guy, Keith Richard and Rick Derringer
13. All I Want Is You – with Johnny Rzeznik
14. 69 Freedom Special – with Friends All-Star Jam
15. Fly Like An Eagle – with Steve Miller
16. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know – with Joe Perry and Mick Hucknall


The rumours grow on and on about the imminent DVD release of THE BEATLES’ “Let It Be”. Some sources even state it’ll come out in September, which looks quite unlikely, as there’s still no advertising that surely must accompany such a project. At the same time, there’s a certain logic: if the movie is to indeed appear at first on three discs, as a collectors’ edition, and then, three months later, as a regular one-disc pressing, the later version would hit the stores around Christmas – to become a great present.

Regarding the delay in such a long overdue issue, the grapevine attributed it to the late George Harrison objections before yet now the reason is said to be the sheer amount of work which had to be done not only on a 5.1 surround sound mix but also on additional material. There was much material shot under the guidance of Michael Lindsay-Hogg that never made it to the original 80-minute film, and some of it, including the complete rooftop gig, will hopefully be released now for all to enjoy.


When Moscow Deputy Mayor Mikhail Men, a son of Russian Orthodox priest and dissident, decided to re-record the songs he’s written as a young man, he didn’t hesitate to contact Glenn Hughes and Joe Lynn Turner who toured Russia at the time, to supply vocals. The two agreed and returned to Moscow some time ago in order to help out. The resulting album, “Made In Moscow”, is released now as a regular and a limited, including a DVD of making of the CD, edition. Not that the songs match the singing though…

1. Arianna
2. Let The Fire Rage
3. Warrior Of The World
4. Forgive Her
5. On Your Marks
6. Im Alive
7. Ond Friends
8. Circus Life
9. The Alchemist

July 24, 2005

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *