June 24, 2006


Believe it or not but the morons at the BBC decided to put and end to the most famous music TV show, “Top Of The Pops” after 42 years of glorious run that brought fame and fortune to oh so many great artists. The last time it’ll go on air is July 30th. There’s a lot of crap on the Beeb, so they want more space for it. Will someone whose success was through TOTP start a petition, please?


June 27th will see the 30th anniversary release of STEVE MILLER BAND‘s mighty album “Fly Like An Eagle”. Remastered from the original multi-track tapes to shine anew on the CD, augmented with three out-takes, on the accompanying DVD it’s presented in 5.1 Surround Sound. But that’s not all that the DVD has: there’s also an exclusive interview with Steve Miller, a “Making Of” documentary and a two-hour concert filmed in September 2005 in Mountain View, CA, and featuring Joe Satriani on a 20-minute version of the titular composition as well as appearance by George Thorogood. Surely a must-have, must-hear and must-see edition…

…Yet while in the middle of the celebration, Steve has already dived into his next big thing – a big band album. The plan is to nail some of his greatest hits and some covers in jazz arrangements and let it all fly high in early 2007.


Mortality is one thing that seems to never leave the minds of IRON MAIDEN. A little wonder this, with Bruce Dickinson personally at the wheel flying the band’s fans to the show. But there’s always been one of the main subjects of the collective’s writing, and the “death” popped up in their titles once in a while – and now again. A new album, scheduled for September is called “A Matter Of Life And Death”. And here are the tracks:

1. Different Worlds
2. These Colours Don’t Run
3. Brighter Than A Thousand Suns
4. The Pilgrim
5. The Longest Day
6. Out Of The Shadows
7. The Reincarnation Of Benjamin Breeg
8. For The Greater Good Of God
9. Lord Of Light
10. The Legacy

There’s a bit of discussion on the web as to who this Benjamin Breeg might be, and the common conclusion is the man in question is a fictitious character Steve Harris likes so much to come up with.


Of all the bands that are poised between obscurity and eternity, CACTUS might be the most influential. They came to be in 1970, when VANILLA FUDGE melted down and the band’s powerful rhythm section of Carmine Appice and Tim Bogert decided to team up with Jeff Beck. Yet English guitar wiz did a Dylan – after a motorcycle accident he took some rest – so the two formed CACTUS with Jim McCarty on guitar and Rusty Day singing. They were huge, though not too successful in commercial terms, and once Jeff was back in the saddle, BECK BOGERT & APPICE went all guns blazing in 1972.

Recent releases of CACTUS studio and live recording proved there’s still interest in the quartet – and now they’re back! Not everyone, as Rusty’s been up to the great gig in the sky since 1982, but former SAVOY BROWN singer Jimmy Kunes is quite an adequate replacement. So the album called “V”, out on July 8th adds to the classic catalogue in a nice manner, while the current tour will bring a live DVD by the of the year for all to experience that spiky music.


Americans’ self-loathing is not something to ever cross Mark Farner‘s mind. The GRAND FUNK main man is still proud of hos country, and those who share his feelings will surely be delighted to get a hold of Farner’s new album, “For The People”, released to reach the listeners before July 4th. A new classic.

1. For The People
2. Cry Baby
3. Nadean
4. Girl
5. You Know Who I Am
6. Same Ol’ Feelin
7. You’re My Girl
8. This Time
9. Waiting Here For You
10. Symptoms
11. Where Do We Go From Here


As it turned out, a “mystery guest” on the the new THE LIZARDS‘ album, “Against All Odds”, out now is no other than Glenn Hughes. The Funkmeister sings on four tracks, but he felt very creative in the company of former RAINBOW and BLUE OYSTER CULT drummer Bobby Rondinelli, a driving force behind THE LIZARDS, and has laid down vocals bass and vocals on a song that’ll appear on the group’s next outing.


It’s hard to tell how many music styles were pioneered by THE BYRDS and, with so much experimenting, the band’s archives are immense to supply previously unheard and rare tracks not only for their albums’ remastered and expanded editions but also for a сouple of box sets. The first of the sets was released back in 1990 and had some new recordings on it. These are the final cuts on a new set, “There Is A Season”, which begins with 1964 demos under the JET SET monicker and a single released as THE BEEFEATERS, and includes most of the extra tracks of the recent re-issues, now organized chronologically. There’s also a bonus DVD featuring the band’s TV appearances during the ’60s, and a full-color book where in, alongside liner notes, are exclusive interviews with Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman. A fine thing for both the uninitiated and superfans.


1. The Only Girl I Adore (THE JET SET)
2. Please Let Me Love You (THE BEEFEATERS)
3. Don’t Be Long (THE BEEFEATERS)
4. The Airport Song
5. You Movin’
6. You Showed Me
7. Mr. Tambourine Man
8. I’ll Feel A Whole Lot Better
9. You Won’t Have To Cry
10. Here Without You
11. The Bells Of Rhymney
12. All I Really Want To Do (single)
13. I Knew I’d Want You
14. Chimes Of Freedom
15. She Has A Way
16. It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue (ver. one)
17. Turn! Turn! Turn! (mono)
18. It Won’t Be Wrong
19. Set You Free This Time
20. The World Turns All Around Her
21. The Day Walk (Never Before)
22. If You’re Gone
23. The Times They Are A-Changin’ (mono)
24. She Don’t Care About Time (single)
25. Stranger In A Strange Land (instr.)


1. Eight Miles High
2. Why (single)
3. 5D (Fifth Dimension)
4. Wild Mountain Thyme
5. Mr. Spaceman
6. I See You
7. What’s Happening
8. I Know My Rider (I Know You Rider)
9. So You Want To Be A Rock ‘N’ Roll Star
10. Have You Seen Her Face
11. Renaissance Fair (single)
12. Time Between
13. Everybody’s Been Burned (single)
14. My Back Pages
15. It Happens Each Day
16. He Was A Friend Of Mine (live, unreleased)
17. Lady Friend (single)
18. Old John Robertson (single)
19. Goin’ Back
20. Draft Morning
21. Wasn’t Born To Follow
22. Tribal Gathering
23. Dolphin’s Smile
24. Triad
25. Universal Mind Decoder


1. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
2. I Am A Pilgrim
3. The Christian Life
4. You Don’t Miss Your Water
5. Hickory Wind
6. One Hundred Years From Now
7. Lazy Days (alt. ver.)
8. Pretty Polly (alt. ver.)
9. This Wheel’s On Fire (ver. one)
10. Drug Store Truck Drivin’ Man
11. Candy
12. Child Of The Universe (OST ver.)
13. Pretty Boy Floyd (live)
14. Buckaroo (live)
15. King Apathy III (live)
16. Sing Me Back Home (live)
17. Lay Lady Lay
18. Oil In My Lamp
19. Tulsa County
20. Jesus Is Just Alright
21. Chestnut Mare
22. Just A Season
23. Kathleen’s Song
24. All The Things


1. Lover Of The Bayou (live)
2. Positively 4th Street (live)
3. Old Blue (live)
4. It’s Alright. Ma (I’m Only Bleeding) (live)
5. Ballad Of Easy Rider (live)
6. You All Look Alike (live, unreleased)
7. Nashville West (live, unreleased)
8. Willin’ (live)
9. Black Mountain Rag (Soldier’s Joy) (live)
10. Baby What You Want Me To Do (live, unreleased)
11. I Trust (live, unreleased)
12. Take A Whiff On Me (live)
13. Glory, Glory
14. Byrdgrass
15. Pale Blue
16. I Wanna Grow Up To Be A Politician
17. Nothin’ To It
18. Tiffany Queen
19. Farther Along
20. Bugler
21. Mr. Tambourine Man (live)
22. Roll Over Beethoven (live)
23. Full Circle
24. Changing Heart
25. Paths Of Victory

June 24, 2006

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *