Krissy Matthews And European Blues Nobility Go For A Double Spin

Why Krissy Matthews hasn’t turned into a household name yet is anyone’s guess for the British-Norwegian guitarist, whose full-length debut saw the light of day in 2006 when he was mere thirteen years old, deserves much wider prominence – at least on the Erja Lyytinen level. The youngster’s rather known in the Old World, though, performing with a band of his own and accompanying such foreign guests as Layla Zoe, and Krissy’s concerts, as suggested by the recently released Rockpalast recording are a thing to behold. Perhaps, that’s why Matthews decided to call the cavalry, including two aforementioned ladies, to take part in his next endeavor – out now under the simple title “Krissy Matthews & Friends” and featuring quite a few legends.

– Krissy Matthews & Friends

Among these friends are Chris Farlowe and Clem Clempson, Miller Anderson and the late Pete Brown, Dennis Chambers and MAN’s Martin Ace, Arthur Brown and John Otway, to name but a smattering of several dozen artists joining Krissy on the two-disc offering which is bound to become one of the year’s events. Very, very promising – but will it bring Matthews the fame he deserves?

Disc 1:
1. Queen – feat. Kim Jennett
2. Ain’t Got No Troubles On The Road –
      feat. Pete Brown, Chris Farlowe & Tommy Schneller
3. Why Are You Ashamed Of Me? – feat. Heidi Solheim
4. Pack It Up – feat. Big Daddy Wilson & Alice Armstrong
5. Tomorrow’s Blues –
      feat. Clem Clempson, Marlia Rae, Harry Waters, Alfred Mehnert, Anne Hauter & Detlef Blanke
6. Rock And Roll Hoochie Koo – feat. Curt Cress, Frank Itt & Stoppok
7. Learn To Live With The Blues –
      feat. Stevie Watts, Whitney Shay, Dani Wilde, Will Wilde, Jimmy Z, Phipu Blue Dog & Kai Strauss
8. Road Angel – feat. Vanja Sky & Danny Bryant
9. Try Me Again – feat. HAMBURG BLUES BAND
10. I’m A Ram – feat. Jed Potts, Paul Jones, Phil Bee, Alex Lex & Paul Jobson
11. The Weight – feat. Denise Gordon, Nicolas Meier, Inga Rumpf,
      Miller Anderson, Albie Donnelly, Sean Webster & Layla Zoe

Disc 2:
1. Sunshine Of Your Love – feat. Dennis Chambers, Malcolm Bruce & Maya Sage
2. Broken – feat. Silje Hagen & Rory Evans
3. Twenty Flight Rock –
     feat. Willie Woigk, Martin Ace, Alex Czerny, Peter Pansky, Giles Robson & Cherry Lee
4. Do What I Say – feat. CLAWFINGER & Millie and Luca Crew
5. Outside – feat. Rob Tognoni, Felix Dehmel & Josh Rigal Woman Blues
6. Bust A Button – feat. THE STONED HILLBILLIES & John Otway
7. Hvorfor Stenger Du For Meg – feat. Heidi Solheim
8. So Einfach Ist Das – feat. HAMBURG BLUES BAND & Stoppok
9. I Don’t Know Where My Heart Is – feat. Beth Morris
10. Losing My Way – feat. Wille Edwards & Erja Lyytinen
11. Mr Brown’s Blues –
     feat. Eric Steckel, Tommy Kristiansen, Amund Maarud, Siggi Schwarz & Terry Marshall
12. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – feat. Arthur Brown & Felix Peikli

May 14, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *