Kyla Brox Brings On A Swiss Report

One of the finest blues and soul British chanteuses, Kyla Brox deserves to be known not only as a child of singers whose voices everybody’s familiar with from the original cast recording of “Jesus Christ Superstar” – because her own velvet and sultry pipes are able to convey any emotion there is, and she’s been covering a lot of ground for two decades now, shining a light across six studio albums as a solo artist, not counting the platters the lady cut with her father. Still, it’s to the great Victor Brox, who passed away in February 2023, that his daughter dedicates her forthcoming concert album, preserved for posterity the following month.

Bearing the title of “Live At Köniz Castle” and slated for release on September 15th, it doesn’t go deep into Kyla’s back catalogues, focusing instead on 2016’s “Throw Away Your Blues” and “Pain & Glory” from 2019, with most numbers of the latter given an airing here. It’s glorious, indeed.

“I think it’s been almost ten years since we released a live album and the last one has been out of stock for quite a while, so this one is long overdue,” says Kyla. “We recorded it live in Switzerland in March this year and it features a mix of favorites from our last two albums. We didn’t know it would become an album, but when we heard the recording we new we had to release it. I feel it’s a true representation of our live performance and I hope you’ll love it.”

Read the review.

Live At Köniz Castle

1. When We’re Alone
2. Beautiful Day
3. Devil’s Bridge
4. Bloodshot Sky
5. In The Morning
6. Pain & Glory
7. Sensitive Soul
8. Bluesman’s Child
9. Honestly Blues
10. If You See Him
11. 365
12. I Can’t Make You Love Me
13. Let You Go
14. Don’t Let Me Fall
15. Choose Me
16. Hallelujah

September 9, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *