Lee Perry Pulls At His Roots

Doing more of the same yet always in a new way can’t warrant unwavering relevance, but that’s how Lee “Scratch” Perry has been rolling for decades. If one needs proof, there’s “Rootz Reggae Dub”: an album the veteran started about two years ago and finished right in time for 2019’s Record Store Day – issues only as a 2LP set, it became one of the vinyl bestsellers in April. The demand for it was strong enough to guarantee a more accessible release, so the new songs will be out on CD as well as download and streaming versions on September 13th. Featuring the venerable Larry McDonald on percussion, the SPEAK EASY players plus Dames Brown and THE GROOVEMATIST on backing vocals, there’s going to be a lot to enjoy; see the video below to judge for yourselves.

The dozen songs on offer – including some familiar titles – looks like this:

Rootz Reggae Dub

1. Sun Is Shining (Over You)
2. Stir It Up (In The Pot)
3. Some Day Play, Right Now Stay
4. Evil Man Loose In The World
5. Punky Reggae Party
6. When Will The War Be Over
7. Like A Megawave
8. Speak Easy On A Quiet Moonless Night
9. You All Know What To Do
10. Ever Forward
11. Stop Killing Your Brothers Down
12. Rewind

July 19, 2019

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *