Lee “Scratch” Perry’s Last-Ever Album Ready For Release

“From Heaven Above,” “Heaven & Hell,” “A Heavenly Dub,” “Heaven Gate”… There were quite a few common threads in the themes of Lee “Scratch” Perry‘s songs, themes that can be easily perceived in the most prominent reggae producer’s personal – as opposed to other people’s platters he worked on – discography, however labyrinthine it may seem to be. Yet while it’s easy to get lost in it – and it will undoubtedly be extended with endless compilations, rarities and remixes – some of the legend’s records, "Super Ape" for one, always stand out, and his last-ever work is to join this list very soon.


“Me work for God! Me see how God make nature and me create that sound. Me never copy no man; me look around and don’t see no man me want to copy, me only see God,” remarked Perry once, and that’s the subject in the heart of “Heaven”: the work which Lee finished shortly before his passing in 2021 and which should be issued on October 27th, with such pieces as “God Smile” and “Peace” supporting the titular cut’s message. Quite a statement!

1. Heaven
2. Good News
3. Shut Up
4. Baby Elephant
5. Peace
6. God Smile
7. Shining
8. Repented

October 7, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *