Ringo Goes Four-By-Four With Macca Song In Tow

Ringo Starr may be one of the most charming folks in the realm of rock – but no amount of charisma can conceal the standard mediocrity of his records which, despite the presence of top-notch players who help the former Beatle write songs, don’t do much justice to his legend. With the exception of “Postcards From Paradise” from 2015, all of the veteran’s albums since 2010’s “Y Not” were rather short – “Ringo 2012” clocking out in less than 29 minutes – that a lot of fans balk at having to pay full price for not a full-length record. Thus, the concept of series of EPs was born.

Rewind Forward

Beginning in 2021 with “Zoom In” which comprised five cuts, and taken further later in that year and in in 2022 with “Change The World” and “EP3” both of which were four-track discs, it’s going to be continued with “Rewind Forward” that will be released on October 13th on cassette, CD, and 10″ vinyl as well as a digital download. Titled after another Mr. Starkey’s famous malapropism, the mini-album can become the strongest installment in the series, what with Steve Lukather co-penning one of the four pieces on offer, the Heartbreakers Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench authoring another, where Ian Hunter puts in an appearance, none other than Ringo’s erstwhile bandmate Paul McCartney standing behind “Feeling The Sunlight” – the best selling point of this little bundle of music – and the titular song co-composed by Ringo himself. The numbers run in the following order:

1. Shadows On The Wall
2. Feeling The Sunlight
3. Rewind Forward
4. Miss Jean

August 23, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *