Robin Trower Widens His “Yesterday” Move

Even though the listeners could have been prepared to experience the whole power of Robin Trower‘s writing and playing after the guitarist’s more prominent creative presence on PROCOL HARUM’s "Broken Barricades" album, his 1973 solo debut “Twice Removed From Yesterday” still surprised a lot of fans. Nobody really expected such a heavy, yet exquisitely carved, slab of blues that Trower’s trio – Robin’s sidekicks there were former STONE THE CROWS bassist James Dewar and drummer Reg Isidore – delivered with blistering brilliance under the watchful eye of producer Matthew Fisher. Five decades on, a time came to celebrate this achievement, and the veteran is ready to release an anniversary reissue of his classic.

Going against the grain of a deluxe treatment fad, there are only two discs in the fresh version of “Twice Removed From Yesterday” – apparently, the bonus material was rather scarce to warrant a box set – so the CD and vinyl editions of what will be out on August 18th contain no previously unheard pieces except for raw mixes of a couple of album’s cuts and four live numbers. These are most welcome, of course, as is a single B-side, but one would want more of RT’s raptures.

Twice Removed From Yesterday

1. I Can’t Wait Much Longer
2. Daydream
3. Hannah
4. Man Of The World
5. I Can’t Stand It
6. Rock Me Baby
7. Twice Removed From Yesterday
8. Sinner’s Song
9. Ballerina
10. Take A Fast Train (B-side)
11. Man Of The World (alt. mix)
rough mixes:
12. Hannah
13. Ballerina
John Peel BBC Session – March 26th, 1973:
14. Twice Removed From Yesterday
15. Man Of The World
16. Daydream
17. Sinner’s Song

August 5, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *