Robyn Hitchcock Returns To The Summer Of Love

No stranger to a high-quality cover version, Robyn Hitchcock both heard his songs performed by other artists and borrowed songs from other artists’ repertoire, most notably delving into fellow musicians’ caches on “The Man Upstairs” in 2014. One decade down the line from that album, and the British veteran found himself embrace a different concept that requires looking back at classics which shaped his creative vision in the ’60s and which he’s been delivering onstage for some time.

1967 –
How I Got There And Why I Never Left

In particular, Hitchcock casts a glance over his shoulder to focus on the year that brought on the Summer of Love, which is why July 2nd will see the release Robyn’s memoir titled “1967 – How I Got There And Why I Never Left” and June 28th the issue of the companion record “1967 – Vacations In The Past” where he reimagines, in acoustic mode, quite a few hits from that year, plus, apparently, one original cut. While there was no artwork revealed yet, the only thing known apart from this is the following fact: once the current tour’s over, the former Soft Boy will finish preparing fresh material for his 2025 platter.

1. A Whiter Shade Of Pale (PROCOL HARUM)
2. Itchycoo Park (THE SMALL FACES)
3. Burning Of The Midnight Lamp (Jimi Hendrix)
4. I Can Hear The Grass Grow (THE MOVE)
5. San Francisco (Scott McKenzie)
6. Waterloo Sunset (THE KINKS)
7. See Emily Play (PINK FLOYD)
8. My White Bicycle (TOMORROW)
9. No Face, No Name, No Number (TRAFFIC)
10. Way Back In The 1960s (THE INCREDIBLE STRING BAND)
11. Vacations In The Past
12. A Day In The Life (THE BEATLES)

May 30, 2024

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *