Rory Gallagher’s “Town & Country” Set To Be Out

If there ever was an artist whose posthumous releases have always been met with gladness bordering on rapture, it’s Rory Gallagher. The Irish guitarist – well, multi-instrumentalist – passed away almost three decades ago, yet his concert recordings prove to be revelatory even today, such is the sheer force and brilliance of Gallagher’s performances. That’s why, while the reissue programme of Rory’s studio albums may interest mostly completists, finding pleasure in listening to various takes of a single tune, the live document slated to hit the shelves on July 7th should attract much more attention from blues-rock aficionados.

Called “All Around Man – Live In London” and committed to tape during the veteran’s appearances at the “Town & Country” club on December 28th and 29th, 1990. It captures the period when Gallagher promoted that year’s “Fresh Evidence” LP – the era of which there’s no official live albums – and features seven out of ten numbers from this platter alongside such classics as “Out On The Western Plains” and “Moonchild” as well as rarer played cuts, the 2CD or 3LP’s title track included. With the document origins being the recently found multi-tracks, freshly mixed and mastered at Abbey Road, it’s a must-have kind of release.

All Around Man –
Live In London

CD 1:
1. Continental Op
2. Heaven’s Gate
3. Don’t Start Me Talkin’
4. Kid Gloves
5. Mean Disposition
6. The Loop
7. Tattoo’d Lady
8. The King Of Zydeco
9. Moonchild
10. Out On The Western Plains
11. Ride On Red, Ride On
12. Walkin’ Blues
13. Empire State Express

CD 2:
1. Shadow Play
2. I Wonder Who
3. Shin Kicker
4. Middle Name
5. When My Baby She Left Me
6. Ghost Blues
7. Messin’ With The Kid
8. Keep A Knockin’
9. Bullfrog Blues
10. All Around Man

May 7, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *