SHE & HIM Invite Brian Wilson To A Tribute To Himself

SHE & HIM might have been perceived in the very beginning as a vanity act that Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward came up with to entertain themselves and their friends but, fifteen years on from the duo’s debut and six albums later, the little ensemble are seen in a different light. More so, their last two records didn’t feature the actress’ originals, focusing instead on classics to stress the musicians’ talent as interpreters – something that they displayed from the start by including a few covers on each of their first platters. A couple of those were sourced from Brian Wilson – one from his solo repertoire and one from THE BEACH BOYS’ catalogue – and this is the template for Ward and Deschanel’s new offering.

Titled “Melt Away: A Tribute To Brian Wilson” and scheduled for release on July 22nd, it opts for the most part for deep cuts rather than well-known numbers by the legendary songwriter – all, apart from the titular track, from his band – with “Do It Again” that the former surfers laid down twice, in 1968 and 2011 and Wilson and Mike Love redone as well, respectively in 1995 and 1996, finding Brian himself join Matthew and Zooey and, thus, fully endorsing the project. Which is why it should not be passed on by fans.

Melt Away:
A Tribute To Brian Wilson

1. Darlin’
2. Wouldn’t It Be Nice
3. Til I Die
4. Deidre
5. Melt Away
6. Good To My Baby
7. Don’t Talk (Put Your Head on My Shoulder)
8. Don’t Worry Baby
9. This Whole World
10. Kiss Me, Baby
11. Do It Again
12. Heads You Win, Tails I Lose
13. Please Let Me Wonder
14. Meant for You

June 6, 2022

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *