STEELEYE SPAN Roll Back The Time For Forgotten Concert

It must have been a tad surrealistic for Americans who happened to be at New York’s famed club “The Bottom Line” around Independence Day of 1974 – on July 2nd, 3rd or 4th – because, instead of patriotic songs, they got treated to English, Irish and Scottish motifs as woven by STEELEYE SPAN who took to the road once again after their recently released sixth album “Now We Are Six” hit the charts in the UK. Not that the expanded line-up featured a lot of fresh material in their set – “Two Magicians” and “Thomas The Rhymer” were the only additions to the band’s repertoire from the new platter – but Maddy Prior and her colleagues performed a few pieces off the previous one, “Parcel Of Rogues” from 1973, and of course, included “Gaudete” which was their Yuletide hit in 1972.

One of these concerts will see the light of day, for the first time ever, on February 16th, titled “Live At The Bottom Line, 1974” and tightly packed with the ensemble’s originals and folk perennials. Given there’s no official on-stage recordings from that period, this CD feels essential.

Live At The Bottom Line, 1974

1. Alison Gross
2. Irish Jigs (incl. Paddy Clancy’s)
3. Alison Gross
4. Introduction to Cam Ye O’er Frae France
5. Cam Ye O’er Frae France
6. Introduction to John Barleycorn
7. John Barleycorn
8. Introduction to Little Sir Hugh
9. Little Sir Hugh
10. Introduction to Two Magicians
11. Two Magicians
12. Saucy Sailor
13. Robbery With Violins / Kitty Come Down From Limerick / O’Rourke’s Reel
14. Summer Is A Comin’ In
15. Staines Morris / In Peascod Time
16. One Misty Moisty Morning
17. Gaudete
18. Thomas The Rhymer
19. The Musical Priest / The Silver Spear / The High Reel
20. Nautical Medley: Hearts Of Oak / A Life On The Ocean Wave / Rule Britannia
21. Royal Forester
22. The Mason’s Apron

January 12, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *