Steve Hillage Issues Document From Glasto Gig Of 1979

Ever-relevant in his wondrous volatility, Steve Hillage is an artist whose concert tapes have always been of great listening value, because of the expectancy – or, rather, the presence of unexpected turns – of his improvisations. That’s why, despite the cognoscenti’s familiarity with the British legend’s February 1979 concert at the University of Kent which was preserved for posterity on video, there is much interest in his performance at the Glastonbury Festival in June of the same year – a document slated for release on July 7th.

Steve’s ensemble played the Glasto on the summer solstice night with a slightly different line-up, although it still featured Dave Stewart and Miquette Giraudy alongside Hillage, and delivered a different set of pieces – the result of the two-weeks rehearsal in a barn at Worthy Farm, near the festival site. But while they embodied the event’s spirit more than anyone else at that particular moment, there’s no visuals this time, “The Glastonbury Experience – Live 1979” seeing the light of day on as audio, on CD and double-LP. That’s what the releases look like:

The Glastonbury Experience –
Live 1979

1. Are You Experienced?
2. Electrick Gypsies
3. Unzipping The Zype
4. Hurdy Gurdy Man
5. Light In The Sky
6. Unidentified (Flying Being)
7. Radio
8. Octave Doctors
9. 1988 Aktivator
10. Crystal City
11. The Glorious Om Riff
12. Talking To The Sun (Intro)

June 3, 2022

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *