Steve Smith’s VITAL INFORMATION Fly Back For Anniversary

If not for his first stint behind the JOURNEY drum kit, Steve Smith could not have signed a recording contract for a solo album as early as in 1983 and wouldn’t have the chance to reunite with two of his high school friends in a band they called VITAL INFORMATION. Operating on a jazz-rock field, the trio – who went through a few line-up changes over the following decades, recorded quite a few albums before going on hiatus after “Heart Of The City” saw the light of day back in 2017. But they’re back now – to celebrate the ensemble’s 40th anniversary.

Scheduled to be released on May 5th, the group’s new platter “Time Flies” – featuring, alongside Smith, bassist Janek Gwizdala and keyboard player Manuel Valera, and having its title echoed in one of its pieces, “Tempus Fugue-It” – is a mix of originals and standards like “What Is This Thing Called Love” spanning a whole hour, with a 54-minute companion disc “A Prayer For The Generations” added for enhanced impression of the collective’s contemporary sound. A lot to take in and a lot to enjoy.

Time Flies

CD 1:
1. Emergence
2. Tempus Fugue-It
3. Time Flies
4. Darn That Dream
5. Un Poco Loco
6. Self Portrait
7. Inception
8. Choreography in Six
9. No Qualm
10. Ugly Beauty
11. What Is This Thing Called Love
12. Erdnase
13. One Down, One Up

CD 2:
A Prayer For The Generations (Parts 1-8)

March 26, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *