THE BEATLES’ Hollywood Tapes Scheduled For Release

One of the most eagerly expected items since the bulk of THE BEATLES‘ made it onto CD, especially after it was remastered, the band’s only live album, released originally in 1977, is finally to get a reissue. After new copies of the tapes have been discovered in America, Giles Martin found them superior in quality to those kept in the U.K., remixed them and remastered, with the original tracks augmented by a smattering of bonus recordings, and now “Live At The Hollywood Bowl” is to be out on September 9th.

A pity, classic cover – venue profile and a pair of tickets – has been discarded in favor of a less alluring image that clearly ties the CD, and vinyl, in with a Ron Howard documentary “Eight Days A Week” which will hit the cinemas a week later, on September 16th.

With this album out, here’s hoping for eventual “Let It Be” film re-release, and the introduction of the Shea Stadium recordings to the canon.

As for the Hollywood album, it’s going to run like this:

THE BEATLES - Live At The Hollywood Bowl

Live At The Hollywood Bowl

1. Twist and Shout (30/8/65)
2. She’s A Woman (30/8/65)
3. Dizzy Miss Lizzy (30/8/65 & 29/8/65 – edit)
4. Ticket To Ride (29/8/65)
5. Can’t Buy Me Love (30/8/65)
6. Things We Said Today (23/8/64)
7. Roll Over Beethoven (23/8/64)
8. Boys (23/8/64)
9. A Hard Day’s Night (30/8/65)
10. Help! (29/8/65)
11. All My Loving (23/8/64)
12. She Loves You (23/8/64)
13. Long Tall Sally (23/8/64)
previously unreleased:
14. You Can’t Do That (23/8/64)
15. I Want To Hold Your Hand (23/8/64)
16. Everybody’s Trying To Be My Baby (30/8/65)
17. Baby’s In Black (30/8/65)

July 20, 2016

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.