THE ZOMBIES Engage In “Different Game”

Although their name seems to suggest otherwise, THE ZOMBIES have never been content to exist as living dead – even now when almost everyone got used to see the veterans as dinosaurs of the rock trade – and the ensemble’s 2015 album “Still Got That Hunger” all but confirmed this. There were quite a few changes in the band’s life since then, including the passing of longtime bassist Jim Rodford in 2018 and the group’s induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame the following year. It was around the time of that event that Rod Argent and Colin Blunstone decided to go about the collective’s eight longplay – which will get issued on March 31st.

Why the delay? The reason is rooted in the artists’ principle cited above: while lesser mortals were content to work remotely during the Covid-19 pandemic, Blunstone and Argent didn’t want to lose the vibe musicians produce when playing together. Not for nothing THE ZOMBIES’ new record – whose artwork depicts an incident of their tour van catching fire in the Arizona desert – bears the title of “Different Game”! Not a lot of players can engage in such six decades after they began to perform together – but these ones can. Staying alive is important after all. The band have been doing the platter’s titular cut on-stage for some time, but the studio version of its first single was released just now (watch the videos below).

Different Game

1. Different Game
2. Dropped Reeling & Stupid
3. Rediscover
4. Runaway
5. You Could Be My Love
6. Merry-Go-Round
7. Love You While I Can
8. I Want To Fly
9. Got To Move On
10. The Sun Will Rise Again

January 13, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *