Theo Travis And Robert Fripp Release Live Box Set

Despite the usual brevity of similar creative unions, the collaboration between reeds master Theo Travis and KING CRIMSON mastermind Robert Fripp proved to be lasting and fruitful. Starting off ten years ago, the pair not only recorded three studio albums to date but also performed a series of concert, some of those preserved for posterity, although only one was issued on physical media. That is about to change on July 6th, when a live box set titled “Between The Silence” will see the light of day. Comprising three sets, two of them previously unreleased, it’s a great representation of music existing in the moment and, at the same time, rooted in the artists’ accumulated repertoire. Among the collection’s highlights are “The Apparent Chaos Of Stone” and “Dark Clouds” as well as new readings of prog classics “Moonchild” and “The Power To Believe” which marry static tunes to improvisation. A thing of fleeting beauty.

There will be companion pieces to “Between the Silence”: a trilogy of Travis & Fripp apps that have been developed with Peter Chilvers, known for his work with Brian Eno, to create an even more “in the moment” experience on each listen.

The entire breakdown of what’s inside the box looks like this:

TRAVIS & FRIPP - Between The Silence

Between The Silence

CD 1:
All Saints Church, Broad Chalke – May 21st, 2009

1. The Apparent Chaos Of Stone
2. In A Field Of Green
3. Route 23 (Improv)
4. The Offering
5. Blue Calm
6. Moonchild
7. Duet For The End Of Time
8. Coda: Duet For The End Of Time

Spiegeltent, Bath Festival – June 5th, 2010

1. Emporium
2. In A Field Of Green
3. Rotary Symmetrical
4. Moonchild
5. A Careful Distance
6. Blue Calm
7. Route 23 (Improv)
8. Duet For The End Of Time
9. Encore: Bath Improv

All Saints Church, Pittville, Cheltenham – July 16th, 2010

1. The Power To Believe
2. Pastorale
3. Rotary Symmetrical
4. Dark Clouds
5. Blue Calm
6. When The Rains Fall
7. Duet For The End Of Time

June 21, 2018

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.