UFO’s Phil Mogg To Open His “Motel” Before Retiring

It’s been some time since UFO’s mainstay Phil Mogg announced his forthcoming retirement from music business and desire to spend the rest of his life away from the ensemble who can carry on without their singer – although one would find it difficult to imagine the British collective fronted by anybody else. However, a little later the veteran stated there was a bit of unfinished business which he, standing at the fore of the band between 1968 and now, never got around to delivering: a solo album that, finally, has a release date and a tracklist.

What was said to be titled “Moggs Motel” – sic! no apostrophe here – will see the light of day on September 6th, with its inaugural video planned for the late spring or early summer. Whether the record may sound different from Phil’s main group, MOGG/WAY or MOGG & THE SIGN OF 4 is hard to say, what with his principal collaborator on it being UFO alumnus Neil Carter – singing and playing keyboards, guitar and flute alongside bassist Tony Newton, six-stringer Tommy Gentry and drummer Joe Lazarus – but looks like this platter should turn out a tad lighter in style than the warbler’s previous cuts. As for its songs, here they are:

Moggs Motel

1. Apple Pie
2. Sunny Side Of Heaven
3. Face Of An Angel
4. I Thought I Knew You
5. The Princess Bride
6. Other People’s Lives
7. Tinker Tailor
8. Weather
9. Harry’s Place
10. The Wrong House
11. Shane
12. Storyville

March 23, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *