UFO Land For Cover Experience

UFO have never been strangers to an occasional cover of a memorable tune, be it Frankie Miller’s “A Fool In Love” or a “Mystery Train” blues, but on September 29th the British band go for the entire experience of delivering tracks borrowed from other artists’ repertoire. The Salentino Cuts” is a reflection of the players’ individual tastes, because some of their choices are truly unexpected. Bill Withers and Graham Gouldman-penned classics surely do fit the group’s modus operandi in terms of their soulness, yet no one could have guessed Phil Mogg and his colleagues might latch onto a John Mellencamp or Tom Petty, let alone MAD SEASON things.

As it turns out they did exactly that, and here’s the result – songs and their original performers (read the review):

UFO - The Salentino Cuts

The Salentino Cuts

1. Heart Full Of Soul (THE YARDBIRDS)
2. Break On Through (THE DOORS)
3. River Of Deceit (MAD SEASON)
4. The Pusher (STEPPENWOLF)
5. Paper In Fire (John Mellencamp)
6. Rock Candy (MONTROSE)
7. Mississippi Queen (MOUNTAIN)
8. Ain’t No Sunshine (Bill Withers)
9. Honey Bee (Tom Petty)
10. Too Rolling Stoned (Robin Trower)
11. Just Got Paid (ZZ TOP)
12. It’s My Life (THE ANIMALS)

July 29, 2017

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *