Vince Clarke Strikes Solo

Over the years, Vince Clarke has worked in various ensemble configurations – a quartet when with DEPECHE MODE and WEST INDIA COMPANY, a duo when with YAZOO and ERASURE, to name but a couple – yet what the electropop maven has never done was to try and realize a solo album. Still, what else could he do once the pandemic made studio and concert work impossible if not to work on fresh sounds that the veteran created on Eurorack: a modular synthesizer looking like a small Moog and endowed with seemingly limited sonic possibilities which Clarke set off to explore and, unexpectedly, solidify it all into a record titled “Songs Of Silence” and set for release on November 17th.

Songs Of Silence

Playing with the idea of each track being based around one note and keeping a single key from the piece’s beginning to the end, Vince came up with a series of instrumentals that, indeed, sound as if they have a topline – only without vocals attached to it. Judging by the video below, the prospect promises to feel interesting.

1. Cathedral
2. White Rabbit
3. Passage
4. Imminent
5. Red Planet
6. The Lamentations Of Jeremiah
7. Mitosis
8. Blackleg
9. Scarper
10. Last Transmission

September 26, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *