Brian Auger To Launch Reissue Programme

Brian Auger is more than a mere musician – he’s a rhythm-and-blues institution, although pigeonholing the veteran’s oeuvre would be a futile task, for everything the organist has ever done defies stylistic categorization. A monumental presence on both British and American scenes for six decaxes, he’s still active as a creator and performer – Brian’s latest live record a testament to his longevity – and, of course, his slightly labyrinthine back catalogue is immense. Which is why the news of the maestro’s recently inked deal with Soul Bank Music that will allow him to reissue most of the past platters – on CD and vinyl as well as downloads, some of it upscaled to spatial audio – feels so welcome; more so, Auger’s delving into his personal archive to uncover a lot of previously unreleased numbers, including concerts cuts, radio tapes, collaborations, alternate versions of famous songs and outtakes from various sessions.

To give aficionados a taste of things to come, the label puts out “Auger Incorporated” – a digital-only compilation spanning 60 years of the ivories driver’s career and including seven yet-unheard tracks, some of those live – on February 25th. It’s available for pre-order now, with details of the further programme will follow later.

Auger Incorporated

Brian Auger:
1. The Preacher
2. Poinciana
3. I Just Got Some
4. The Sidewinder
5. Up Above My Head
Brian Auger & THE TRINITY:
6. Walking – with Sonny Boy Williamson and Jimmy Page
7. In & Out
8. Red Beans & Rice (live at Ce Soir En Danse, Paris)
9. I Wanna Take You Higher
Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & THE TRINITY:
10. Indian Rope Man
11. Light My Fire
12. This Wheel’s On Fire
13. Save Me (live at Piper Club, Rome)
14. Jeannine
15. Total Eclipse
16. A Better Land
17. Fill Your Head With Laughter
18. Whenever You’re Ready
19. Straight Ahead
20. Something Out Of Nothing
21. Freedom Jazz Dance (live at The Winter Garden)
Brian Auger:
22. Planet Earth Calling
23. Night Train To Nowhere
24. Circles
25. Splatch
26. Freddie’s Flight

January 28, 2022

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *