Appice Brothers release their drum battle

They pronounce their last name differently, yet Carmine and Vinny Appice are the most famous brothers serving rock ‘n’ roll from behind the battery kit. The list of their credits are long and fascinating, and both heavily – in all meaning of the word – influenced popular music, Carmine through his stint with VANILLA FUDGE, Vinny via his stay with BLACK SABBATH and DIO, although the older also dallied with disco in Rod Stewart’s band and co-wrote the jarringly immortal “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy” before touring with Ozzy Osbourne. The songs the Appices recorded with various artists have recently been a part of the brothers’ show “Drum Wars” the very heart of which were duels of percussive solos. Now, one of these performances, recorded in June 2014 at the “Iridium” club in New York, are out on CD.

Titled “Drum Wars Live”, the album features Jim Crean on vocals, BURNING HEAT’s Ethan Brosh on guitar and James Caputo on bass, and its tracklist runs like this:


Drum Wars Live

1. Intro
2. The Mob Rules
3. Drum Wars
4. Holy Diver
5. We Rock
6. The Flintstones
7. Carmine Solo
8. Bark At The Moon
9. Do Ya Think I’m Sexy
10. Drum Wars Part 2
11. Vinny Solo
12. Stand Up And Shout / Heaven And Hell
13. Crazy Train

November 23, 2014

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *