GONG Sailing With Allen’s Ghost

It might seem unthinkable but that’s what Daevid Allen wanted: GONG carry on after the band’s mastermind’s passing. Their new album, scheduled for a September 16th release, is titled in this spirit – “Rejoice! I’m Dead!” – and it features the Chief Pixie’s voice on two tracks. More so, Kavus Torabi, Dave Sturt, Ian East, Fabio Golfetti, and Cheb Nettles – that’s the ensemble’s current line-up – welcomed usual suspects and the group’s alumni Steve Hillage and Didier Malherbe on board. There’s going to be a manifold issue of the record that will see the light of day not only on CD and vinyl but also as a Deluxe 12″ Hardback Book Edition with 2 CDs, the second containing demos, interviews and rehearsal clips, and a DVD holding 24/96 PCM stereo and DTS 96/24 5.1 digital surround mixes of the album.

GONG - Rejoice! I'm Dead!

Rejoice! I’m Dead!

As for the main disc (read the review), its tracks run like this:

1. The Thing That Should Be
2. Rejoice!
3. Kaptial
4. Model Village
5. Beatrix
6. Visions
7. The Unspeakable Stands Revealed
8. Through Restless Seas I Come
9. Insert Yr Own Prophecy


July 7, 2016

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *