Jon Anderson’s “True”: The Tracklist’s Detailed

Quite a lot has been said about the cover of “True”Jon Anderson‘s first studio album with THE BAND GEEKS who have been accompanying him onstage for some time now, the group featuring Richie Castellano of BLUE ÖYSTER CULT – and indeed, the artwork of the record coming out on August 23rd feels rather cheap. Still, isn’t this an indicator of the erstwhile YES singer not giving a damn about visual fantasies, perhaps for the first time in his life, and focusing on instead on music per se? Whatever it is, the songs have always been at the fore of the veteran’s sights, and now that the tracklist of the platter arrived Anderson aficionados can draw parallels between Jon’s classic oeuvre and his new opus.

Yes, the title of lead single “Shine On” should remind the connoisseurs of “Shine For Me” which the warbler laid down ages ago with Vangelis, “Realization Part Two” evoke “Release” from the vocalist’s archives, and “Build Me An Ocean” make one recall “Ocean Song” from "Olias Of Sunhillow" – but, of course, all such comparisons are perfunctory in light of “True” highlighting the continuity of Anderson’s work and his dedication to art. As for the cover, it serves its purpose by riveting the sights of Jon’s fans.


1. True Messenger
2. Shine On
3. Counties And Countries
4. Build Me An Ocean
5. Still A Friend
6. Make It Right
7. Realization Part Two
8. Once Upon A Dream
9. Thank God

June 16, 2024

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *