Lamont Dozier Invites Stars To Strip Down His Classics

Together with the Holland brothers, Lamont Dozier was an integral part of Motown’s Hit Factory, churning and producing classic after classic for the likes of FOUR TOPS, Marvin Gaye, THE SUPREMES and even THE MIRACLES (who has their own songwriting genius in Smokey Robinson). “You Keep Me Hangin’ On’,” “Reach Out, I’ll Be There,” “Mickey’s Monkey”: Lamomt had a hand in penning of those and many more gems which would be covered by dozens of artists. Moving on to their own labels, Invictus and Hot Wax, Dozier continued on delivering, before dabbling in performing, yet it’s composing that’s always been his main strength, and his name deservedly appeared in the credits for the “Buster” movie where the veteran collaborated with Phil Collins.

Lamont never stopped, and now he’s released“Reimagination”: an album of stripped-down versions of Dozier’s songs – some of those, of course – with a few featuring such heavy guests as Todd Rundgren, Graham Nash and Cliff Richard, although chanteuses Rumer, Lee Ann Womack and the amazing Jo Harman also add their charm to the record.

In full, it goes the following way (read the review):

LAMONT DOZIER - Reimagination


1. Supremes Medley – with Graham Nash:
       Where Did Our Love Go / Stop! In The Name Of Love /
       Come See About Me / Baby Love
2. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) – with Gregory Porter
3. Reach Out, I’ll Be There
4. Baby I Need Your Loving – with Lee Ann Womack
5. Bernadette
6. This Old Heart Of Mine / My World Is Empty Without You –
       with Cliff Richard
7. Heat Wave / Nowhere To Run – with Jo Harman
8. In My Lonely Room – with Todd Rundgren
9. Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me A Little While) – with Marc Cohn
10. You Keep Me Hanging On – with Rumer
11. Reflections – with Justin Currie
12. I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)
bonus track:
13. Reach Out, I’ll Be There – duet with Jo Harman

May 16, 2018

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *