Neil Young’s Forgotten Band To Release Archive Concert

BUFFALO SPRINGFIELD, CSN&Y, CRAZY HORSE… There’s no prize for finding the common denominator of all theses ensembles. However, one of the collectives associated with Neil Young rarely get a mention: THE DUCKS‘ lifespan proved to be too Short – resulting in a mere twenty shows and no studio platter – to warrant more than a footnote outside of the legend’s book-form biographies. The supergoup left a few live bootleg tapes after their two-month Californian tour of 1977, and April 14th will see the highlights of those officially issued for the first time.

THE DUCKS were a quartet of kindred spirits, comprising, apart from Young, guitarist Jeff Blackburn, who cowrote “My My Hey Hey” with Neil, bassist Bob Mosley, who used to play in MOBY GRAPE, and session drummer Johnny Craviotto. All the four sang, and their concerts featured songs linked to each of the members. Performed were such Shakey classics as “Are You Ready For The Country?” and still-to-be-recorded “Comes A Time” as well as staples like “I’m Ready” and “Little Wing” – and some of them appear on the double-CD and three-LP album “High Flyin'” which should be of major interest to many.

High Flyin’

CD 1:
1. I Am A Dreamer
2. Younger Days
3. Gypsy Wedding
4. Are You Ready For The Country?
5. Hold On Boys
6. My My My (Poor Man)
7. I’m Tore Down
8. Hey Now
9. Wide Eyed And Willing
10. Truckin’ Man
11. Sail Away
12. Gone Dead Train
13. Silver Wings

CD 2:
1. Human Highway
2. Your Love
3. I’m Ready
4. Little Wing
5. Car Tune
6. Windward Passage
7. Leaving Us Now
8. Mr. Soul
9. Two Riders
10. Honky Tonk Man
11. Sailor Man
12. Silver Wings

March 12, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *