Robin Trower looking back on his rise

It’s not so often that a respected guitarist in a prog rock band grows so impatient to add blues to the music his colleagues do that he decides to break away and go it alone. Yet Robin Trower did exactly that. Having come up with his own trio in 1973, some time after he made a great contribution to PROCOL HARUM’s "Home" and tried to join forces with Frankie Miller in the ill-fated JUDE, Trower, produced by another HARUM alumnus, Matthew Fisher, shaped a string of brilliant records which saw him climb to fame. And now this climb is documented on the forthcoming double album “State To State: Live Across America.”

Comprised of two dozens previously unreleased concert performances from Philadelphia and California (1974), Illinois (1976), Oklahoma (1977) and Missouri (1980), it’s a great glimpse into the guitarist’s development and blossoming. If only these tapes were released in full!

ROBIN TROWER - State To State: Live Across America

State To State:
Live Across America

Disc 1:

1. Twice Removed From Yesterday
2. Bridge Of Sighs
3. Lady Love
4. Daydream
5. Too Rolling Stoned
6. I Can t Wait Much Longer
7. Day Of The Eagle
8. A Little Bit Of Sympathy
9. Alethea
10. Rock Me Baby

Disc 2:

1. Day Dream
2. Same Rain Falls
3. Sailing
4. Long Misty Days
5. I Can t Wait Much Longer
6. Too Rolling Stoned
7. Somebody Calling
8. Bluebird
9. Messin With The Blues
10. The Ring
11. Jack And Jill
12. The Shout/Hannah
13. Victims Of The Fury
14. Mad House

October 9, 2013

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *