THE ROLLING STONES’ “Goats Head Soup” To Be Reissued On Cassette

Goats Head Soup cassette

As announced with a moderate amount of fanfares, THE ROLLING STONES‘ 1973 classic “Goats Head Soup” will be reissued in various formats on September 4th. But while many fans will focus on the box set that features, alongside the album’s newly remaixed version, a smattering of alternative takes and three previously unreleased cuts – including “Scarlet” which has Jimmy Page and Ric Grech parts – as well as a concert document unavailable outside of Japan, there will also be a cassette variant on sale. A limited edition, it’s to comprise only the LP’s stereo remix, yet it’s a sign of the times that it may become the most coveted, collector’s item.

Of course, those wanting to hear more should prepare some cash because the super deluxe set is quite pricey, what with a 120-page book and four posters that accompany the discs, and a 4LP version isn’t cheap either, but 2CD-, single CD- and 2LP releases are accessible.

Goats Head Soup box set

As for the box, its music facet runs like this:

CD1 – 2020 Stereo Mix:
1. Dancing With Mr D
2. 100 Years Ago
3. Coming Down Again
4. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
5. Angie
6. Silver Train
7. Hide Your Love
8. Winter
9. Can You Hear The Music
10. Star Star

CD2 – Rarities and Alternative Mixes:
Previously unreleased:
1. Scarlet
2. All The Rage
3. Criss Cross
4. 100 Years Ago (piano demo)
Instrumental versions:
5. Dancing With Mr D
6. Heartbreaker
7. Hide Your Love
Glyn Johns 1973 mixes:
8. Dancing With Mr D
9. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
10. Silver Train

CD3 – Brussels Affair – Live 1973:
1. Brown Sugar
2. Gimme Shelter
3. Happy
4. Tumbling Dice
5. Star Star
6. Dancing With Mr D
7. Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)
8. Angie
9. You Can’t Always Get What You Want
10. Midnight Rambler
11. Honky Tonk Women
12. All Down The Line
13. Rip This Joint
14. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
15. Street Fighting Man

Disc 4 – Blu-Ray:
Album – as on CD1 – mixed in:
* Dolby Atmos, 96kHz/24 bit high resolution stereo
* 96 kHz/24 bit DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
* Dancing With Mr D
* Silver Train
* Angie


July 10, 2020

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *