Van Morrison Shakes It All Over On A Rock ‘n’ Roll Platter

A few years ago Van Morrison snatched an unhealthy dose of headlines when he vented his anti-vaccination outlook, so it’s quite logical to see the veteran title his forthcoming – slated for release on November 3rd – album “Accentuate The Positive” and dedicate it not to the idealistic Veedon Fleece of the non-tangible but to classic rock ‘n’ roll and rhythm ‘n’ blues – something that the grumpy Northern Irishman excelled in since his day in THEM.

Following up on Van’s “Moving On Skiffle” which was issued earlier this year, the new platter consists of covers, the whopping nineteen of those, that may include a few beyond-rock staples – such as the record’s title track, borrowed from Bing Crosby’s repertoire, and opener “You Are My Sunshine” – yet with the first single “Shakin’ All Over” – listen to the song below – as well as “Blueberry Hill” and a couple more ballads, it’s all par for the course. And the course feels right this time – especially when “Lonesome Train” features Chris Farlowe’s mighty roar and Jeff Beck’s supple licks, whereas “Shake, Rattle And Roll” and “Lucille” come adorned with Taj Mahal’s twang.

Accentuate The Positive

1. You Are My Sunshine
2. When Will I Be Loved
3. Two Hound Dogs
4. Flip, Flop And Fly
5. I Want A Roof Over My Head
6. Problems
7. Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes
8. The Shape I’m In
9. Accentuate The Positive
10. Lonesome Train
11. A Shot Of Rhythm And Blues
12. Shakin’ All Over
13. Bye, Bye Johnny
14. Red Sails In The Sunset
15. Sea Of Heartbreak
16. Blueberry Hill
17. Bonaparte’s Retreat
18. Lucille
19. Shake, Rattle And Roll

September 13, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *