WHITESNAKE shed their PURPLE skin

As we mentioned recently, WHITESNAKE promised to reveal something on February 25th – and they did. Rather expectedly, it’s a new record, one to see the light of day on May 19th; unpredictably, though, it’s a covers collection. Not that David Coverdale‘s band have never done it before – there were “Day Tripper” and “Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City” – yet this time the singer decided to refresh the songs he delivered with DEEP PURPLE, plus “Holy Man” which he never did, as it was Glenn Hughes‘ showcase. Of course, SNAKE played some of those on-stage, but it would be foolish – and DC should have referenced “You Fool No One” here – to hope his new line-up are able to shape the classics better than the giants of DP lore.

Still, it’s interesting, and “The Purple Album” will be made available in regular and deluxe editions, while the super-deluxe packaging is being rumored, too. As of now, it looks like this – with a video to have a taste of things to come:

WHITESNAKE - The Purple Album

The Purple Album

1. Burn
2. You Fool No One (interpolating Itchy Fingers)
3. Love Child
4. Sail Away
5. The Gypsy
6. Lady Double Dealer
7. Mistreated
8. Holy Man
9. Might Just Take Your Life
10. You Keep On Moving
11. Soldier Of Fortune
12. Lay Down Stay Down
13. Stormbringer
Deluxe Edition bonus tracks:
14. Lady Luck
15. Comin’ Home

Lady Double Dealer (music video)
Sail Away (mix music video)
Stormbringer (music video)
Soldier Of Fortune (music video)
Behind The Scenes
Album EPK

February 25, 2015

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *