Ann-Margret Calls On THE WHO And YES Legends For A Rock Record

While most octogenarians would prefer to rest on their laurels, the 81 years young Ann-Margret hasn’t lost her creative flame – still appearing in films and still singing. And while most of still-performing artists from her era would prefer to stick to softer material, Ms. Olsson has different prospects. Which is why she’s issuing a platter of rock and soul classics on April 14th, ten days before her next birthday, and, thus, beating the likes of Pat Boone in terms of their age at the time of embarking on similar endeavors.

Born To Be Wild

Pat, actually, appears on the record that’s titled “Born To Be Wild” – befitting a screen icon who starred alongside Elvis Presley in “Viva Las Vegas” – and was prefaced by its titular single last year (watch the video below). Among other stellar players who accompany Ann-Margret’s vocal lines are Pete Townshend, Joe Perry and Harvey Mandel on guitars, Brian Auger and Rick Wakeman on keyboards, and Jim McCarty on drums, plus Cliff Richard and Linda Gail Lewis as the chanteuse’s singing foils. The result looks interesting and may be indispensable.

1. Rock Around The Clock – with Joe Perry and Jim McCarty
2. Bye Bye Love – with Pete Townshend and T.G. Sheppard
3. Son Of A Preacher Man – with Steve Cropper and Brian Auger
4. Earth Angel – with THE OAK RIDGE BOYS and Harvey Mandel
5. Why Do Fools Fall In Love – with Robben Ford and Chip Z’nuff
6. The Great Pretender – with Paul Shaffer, Danny B. Harvey and Adam Hamilton
7. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You – with Cliff Richard and Rick Braun
8. Born To Be Wild – with THE FUZZTONES
9. Splish Splash – with Mickey Gilley, Linda Gail Lewis and THE ROCKATS
10. Somebody’s In My Orchard – with Don Randi
11. Teach Me Tonight – with Pat Boone, Rick Wakeman and Damiano Della Torre
12. Volare – with Lee Rocker and Slim Jim Phantom
13. Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree – with Sonny Landreth

February 10, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *