Anthony Phillips To Issue A Second “Parts” Box Set

Always a delight, often in unexpected ways, Anthony Phillips‘ extracurricular series sometimes get unjustly overlooked, but for those who cherish those it’s difficult to not notice a certain continuity in this aspect of the artist’s oeuvre. In the course of his reissue programme on Esoteric Recordings, the veteran has a new box set scheduled for September 23rd release: “Private Parts & Pieces V-VIII” – lined up after the upgrades of “Sides” and “1984” (sorry, no reviews) – will pick up where last year’s collection of the series’ first four instalments left off. Lighter on bonus tracks for a particular album – there’s only one this time around, the lavish edition is also given a bonus disc, with previously unheard cuts fleshing out the overall context, and, unlike its predecessor, contains everything in remastered sound.

ANTHONY PHILLIPS - Private Parts & Pieces V-VIII

Private Parts & Pieces V-VIII

Quite obviously, it’ll take Ant and the label another volume to round off “PP&P” but, once completed, the entire scope of it in a gathered form, will present a fan with a new chance to relish the flight of Phillips’ fantasy.

Disc One:
Private Parts & Pieces V: Twelve

1. January
2. February
3. March
4. April
5. May
6. June
7. July
8. August
9. September
10. October
11. November
12. December

Disc Two:
Private Parts & Pieces VI: Ivory Moon

Suite: Sea-dogs Motoring:
1. (I) Sunrise Over Sienna
2. (II) Basking Shark
3. (III) Sea Dog’s Air
4. (IV) Safe Havens
5. Tara’s Theme (From Masquerade)
6. Winter’s Thaw
7. The Old House
8. Moonfall (From Masquerade)
9. Rapids
bonus track:
10. Let Us Now Make Love

Disc Three:
Private Parts & Pieces VII: Slow Waves, Soft Stars

Ice Flight:
1. (I) Flight Of The Snow Petrel: Glacier Bay
2. (II) Flight Of The Whale-Birds: Blizzard Mountain
3. (III) Flight Of The Albatross: Ice Island
4. (IV) White Heaven
5. (V) Cathedral Of Ice
6. Beachrunner
7. End Of The Affair
8. The Golden Pathway
9. Behind The Waterfall
10. Carnival
11. Through The Black Hole
12. Pluto Garden
13. Sospirando
14. Elevenses
15. Goodbye Serenade
16. Bubble And Squeak
17. Vanishing Streets
18. Slow Waves, Soft Stars

Disc Four:
Private Parts & Pieces VIII: New England

1. Aubade
2. Infra Dig
3. Sanctuary
4. La Dolorosa
5. New England Suite (I)
6. New England Suite (II)
7. New England Suite (III)
8. Last Goodbyes
9. Sunrise And Sea Monsters
10. Iona
11. Cathedral Woods
12. If I Could Tell You
13. Jaunty Roads
14. Spirals
15. Pieces Of Eight (I) Pressgang
16. Pieces Of Eight (II) Sargasso
17. Pieces Of Eight (III) Sea-shanty
18. In The Maze
19. Unheard Cry
20. Now They’ve All Gone

Disc Five:
Private Parts & Extra Pieces II:

1. Cathedral Woods Link
2. Jongleur
3. Sanctuary (piano mix)
4. Emerald Forest
5. Unheard Cry Link
6. Skylarks Over The Water
7. Sir Isaac (From Masquerade)
8. Across The Forbidding Horizon
9. End Of The Affair II
10. Autumn Falls
11. Beachrunner II
12. Highland Dawn
13. Sanctuary Link
14. Unheard Cry (guitar demo)
15. Moonfall (From Masquerade) (demo)
16. Pluto Garden (alt. mix)
17. Cathedral Of Ice (alt. mix)
18. A Place To Rest
19. The Riddle Of The Sands

July 27, 2016

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *