When Carmine Appice and Fernando Perdomo join forced to deliver the groovy "Energy Overload" album back in 2021, it was obvious the collaboration between the legendary drummer and in-demand guitarist wouldn’t be a one-off events. It was a joint effort that, in Fern’s words, “yielded nearly two full albums” even during the initial sessions. No wonder, then, in the pair’s return on May 26th with a follow-up record titled “Running Up That Hill” and featuring the Kate Bush perennial which gave it this title.

That’s one cover less than the duo’s previous platter boasted, the rest of the devil’s dozen numbers being their original pieces – but there’s more of external input, especially in a bass department. While one of the tracks on offer has Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal to spar with Perdomo, a few of the rest measure bottom-end with the help of such luminaries as Jimmy Haslip, Billy Sheehan and two British expats, Tony Franklin – Appice’s erstwhile rhythm partner in BLUE MURDER – and Phil Soussan.

“I’m so excited to have a second APPICE-PERDOMO album coming out,” says Perdomo. “I love working with Carmine and I still pinch myself that we work so well together. It blows my mind every time he compares me to Jeff Beck, whom he Carmine was very close to in interviews. With the death of Jeff, I personally feel burdened to continue the rich tradition of making melodic instrumental music in his honor. On this record we are joined by some complete legends that all played beautifully.”

Running Up That Hill

1. Biker Gang – feat. Billy Sheehan & Derek Sherinian
2. Running Up That Hill
3. Drum City
4. Pedal Pusher
5. Dada Song – feat. Jimmy Haslip
6. Slamming – feat. Jimmy Haslip
7. The Rise – feat. Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal
8. Foo Manchu
9. Hyperactive – feat. Phil Soussan
10. Home – feat. Tony Franklin & Everett Kelly
11. Bullets Like Rain
12. Rockin’
13. Bounty Hunter

April 1, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *